Game Development — Starting Fresh

Michael McMullen
2 min readApr 28, 2017

--

Hi All

I am a professional web developer working full time for Queen’s University. I have always dabbed in game development. For me it really started with Quake C back in 1996.

From there I started developing applications. It has always just been “my thing”. I started early in high school working for a software company making contractor applications. From there I moved on to Printer applications. I worked in this industry for approximately 5 years and since then I released a bunch of free applications which you can view on Github.

During that venture I started working with a company called The Game Creators. I created a bunch of training videos for their software and ended up selling them all to them. This is what sparked my interest in teaching. Also why I work on Laracademy on the side.

Laracademy.co is a small Laravel video training website where you can learn about making different projects, or aspects of Laravel.

Now where does game development fall in to this? I have always since I was a kid, interested in games. I initially started to develop with Unity 3d. I create a few games for Gamejams and you can see them on Itch.io

However, I have had GameMaker 1.4 for quite awhile now and their pricing for upgrading to GameMaker 2 was ending so I thought I would splurge a bit and make the purchase. And now that I have made the purchase I guess I will definitely be giving GameMaker a proper go.

I will use this blog as a medium to talk about the things that I am doing and or have accomplished with it.

First Prototype

first game prototype

Here is a small little prototype image that I plan on creating to help me learn GameMaker. Wish me luck :)

--

--

Michael McMullen

Full time web developer for Queen’s University. I teach Laravel out side of work at https://laracademy.co and dabble in game developmen