I’d Walk Barefoot With You

Montreal Cursey
1 min readFeb 28, 2023

A Poem

Photo by Simona Sergi on Unsplash

I’d walk barefoot with you,

Even if you didn’t want me to, although I know you do,

With my shoes in hand or no shoes at all,

I’d walk with you on the beach,

Dance along any lake,

Crawl into any ocean,

Stick my toes into the edges of the muddy Mississippi again and again,

I’d walk with you, side by side,

As long as I am with you,

I’d walk with you,

To tap your shoulder,

Hear you laugh,

Feel your body heat,

Observe your breath,

Touch your skin,

I’d hop from rock to rock,

Stream to stream,

Dodge the frogs and lay in the grass,

Play the one- legged hop scotch,

All with you,

As long as I’m with you,

I’d walk barefoot in the middle of the city street in the summer heat,

While the streetlights guide us and the stars serenade us,

Just to hold your hand.

--

--