What’s the deal with live trivia?

Melissa Delgado
4 min readFeb 12, 2018

--

| In my best ‘Seinfeld’ impression…

So I’m sure you’ve heard of the newest craze and app HQ. The live trivia game where you can win real cash just for answering a few of the worlds toughest questions. Oh yeah, you didn’t think it would be easy did you? HA! Well, I can tell you from experience, it is pretty difficult. Ill explain the rules and show times, types of questions, and getting more lives.

IT’S SHOW TIME!

HQ comes on every. single. day. Yes, that’s right. You have multiple chances at winning this nearly impossible game for just 20 minutes of your time. That’s not all, it also comes on twice during the weekdays. You can play HQ everyday Monday through Friday at 3pm and then again at 8pm, EST of course. During the weekend, they only have one show. Don’t fret, each game during the week is worth $2,500! What about the weekend, you ask? $5,000!!! What!?! I know! They even give away $15,000 if they’re feeling even more generous.

Here’s the catch, you don’t necessarily win the entire prize, unless you’re Einstein resurrected. For each game there are a total of 12 questions, sometimes they bump it up to 15 during the higher prize amounts. You have to get every. single. question. correct (See what I did there). If you get one, just one, wrong you’re outta there. Some of you are nodding your heads and stroking your chins saying, hmm that seems doable. HA! Okay, yes its definitely been done since there have been hundreds, if not thousands, of winners so far.

Each question has 3 possible answers to choose from. These questions aren’t your typical Jeopardy questions. The first few start off easy and you gain a bit of confidence. Scoffing at the screen yelling, is this all you got! The next set of questions seem to either be trick questions or just have completely ridiculous options to pick from. After each question, they show the correct answer and usually explain why. Little bit of learning going on here, which I like. Anything from history to science and pop culture to geography. Why couldn’t school give out money for getting answers correct? Moving on…

For those of you who have not stroked your chin and are also thinking how daunting this task could be, you have the chance to gain more lives for those WTF questions. They start you off with one, thanks HQ! I call this the teaser life because you’re just going to want more after you use that one. So every user that signs up gets a referral code. You send this code to friends, family, co-workers, or even strangers who have not become a user yet. They put this code in when they sign up, BAM! extra life for you. Downside? The new user does not get an extra life, so no incentive for them to use your code.

My referral code is themellymel if you haven’t signed up yet and are feeling generous. I thank you in advance.

Wondering who hosts this shindig all week? Well they have switched between 3 hosts, that I’ve seen. The main “Quiz Daddy” is the man pictured above, comedian Scott Rogowsky. He also often referrs to himself as “Host Malone” or “Quizzy-modo”. Punny Scott, real punny. They also have actress Sarah Pribis, pictured down below. They have even had a guest host whom you all know, and chances are watch, Jimmy Kimmel! Yes, the late-night talk show host has graced our portable screens to also host an episode of HQ. I think he’s a fan.

All in all, this new app/online craze has got me pretty interested. I am a trivia geek and love learning new things. I often find myself saying, huh..interesting. When I first started playing HQ I only got up to the third question before getting the boot. Now, I’m not the most intelligent person I know but I pride myself on knowing a bunch about a bunch. Not getting past the third question kind of hurt my ego, not gonna lie. Once I gave it a few more tries, I found myself getting up to the 7th or 8th question. Still pretty though though. I’ll continue to keep playing and bring you guys an update if I ever win any money from them. Cross your fingers, heck cross everything.

Thanks for reading! 👍😊

Please say Hello On: Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Snapchat

If you enjoyed this story, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it!

--

--