Running into 2024: A Vibrant Start with Freshworks Chennai Marathon

Deepak kumar
5 min readJan 22, 2024

--

Last year, I completed the half-marathon at the Freshworks Chennai Marathon in 2 hours. Post-race, my goal was to make slight improvements in my timing. Following my usual running routine for a few months, I must admit, I wasn’t entirely consistent. By October, I noticed that my progress was not as significant as I had hoped. To address this, I sought the guidance of a skilled coach. So, I got a great coach who not only gave me a running plan but also taught me about the lifestyle a marathon requires. It’s not just about running; it’s about how you sleep, what you eat, how you feel after each of your runs and more. My lifestyle wasn’t great, but I couldn’t change everything at once. I focused on being more consistent with the plan my coach suggested. Adapting to the new lifestyle was tough, but with improved consistency, I completed my training and I mentally prepared for race day in the last week of the race.

Consistency doesn’t guarantee that you’ll be successful. But not being consistent will guarantee that you won’t reach success.

— Chris Williamson

Kickoff to Race Day

With a not-so-great night’s sleep, I arrived at the starting point an hour early, joining my running companions for pre-race warm-ups and exchanging well-wishes. Knowing that I’m not good at pacing myself steadily for the run, I geared up for the start. In the final 10 minutes before the race, as I lined up and got closer to the start point, my excitement took a hit — my watch decided it was the perfect time for a software update. I realized I’d struggle without it, but luckily I spotted a pacer nearby and quickly decided to stick with them.

I was aware that the pacer I followed would be running a bit faster than my usual comfort zone for the half-marathon. So, here was my strategy: I decided to stick with the pacer steadily for at least half of the distance. This way, if I started feeling uncomfortable midway, I’d have a buffer of a few minutes to complete the second half at a slightly slower pace to achieve my targeted timing. Fortunately, the weather was more pleasant due to the rain that occurred on the day and the day before the marathon. However, opinions on the climate varied. I heard a story about a runner unable to give his best in the 42 km category due to the weather. Surprisingly, the very next day, he participated in another Full Marathon event in a different city and secured the first position. Despite conflicting opinions, I personally felt the climate was better. As a runner accustomed to the city’s heat, experiencing slightly improved weather on race day was nothing short of bliss.

Running Through: Start to Near Finish

The race started sharply at 5 AM, with the crowd cheering in excitement. I began my run, adhering to the pace set by the pacer. Fortunately, after a few kilometers, it was just me and my pacer, running side by side. He kept me informed about his plan for the upcoming kilometers and consistently provided mental preparation along the way. Up until the 13th km, running felt comfortable, and I effortlessly maintained the pace. However, as the run progressed, it became more challenging, intensified by the rising sun. To keep going, I drew inspiration from the remarkable announcements made at the event’s start — stories of visually challenged individuals participating in a Full Marathon and the involvement of numerous wheelchair athletes, etc. Pushing through, I reached the 19th km mark. The pacer’s kindness stood out as he carried my water bottle, making things easier for me, and continued to cheer me on throughout the journey.

Crossing the Finish Line

At the 19th km, continuing the run became a challenge. I informed my pacer that I needed a pit-stop and began to walk. Despite his efforts to encourage me to keep going, I had already given up and started walking. Within the next 15 to 30 seconds, another pacer, leading a different group, noticed me walking. He motivated me not to give up and pushed me to run through his words. Resuming my run, I managed to cover an additional 500m. It was at this point that I felt a surge of energy, at least mentally, perhaps driven by the gravity of the finish line. In the last 500m, I pushed myself even harder, crossing the finish line in 1 hour and 49 minutes.

Thrilled to have finished 6 minutes ahead of the planned time, I looked around and found the pacers who had inspired me. I expressed my gratitude to them. Following that, I extended my congratulations to other runners who had performed exceptionally well along the way and those I knew personally. After collecting my medals, doing some cool-down exercises, dealing with cramps with the help of physiotherapists, and enjoying some refreshments, I chatted with fellow runners. As I left the finish area, the idea of what a fantastic way to start the year stayed with me, bringing an added sense of joy as I headed home.

What’s next?

I acknowledge that I could have performed better if I had taken things more seriously. An inner voice constantly reminds me of the challenging journey ahead to surpass my personal best achieved in the past. However, to avoid being too hard on myself, I will choose to focus on the gradual improvements I’ve made in recent times. The race taught me a valuable lesson — despite inconsistency and an improper lifestyle, I cut down 11 minutes in a year and finished the race more comfortably (physically) than my run the previous year. On a positive note, these extra 11 minutes turned out to be a significant boost for my rankings.

Intending to avoid past mistakes or at least minimize them, I’ve decided to create a personalized plan and self-train this year. Achieving my goals comfortably without getting injured is the trickiest part, and it depends on how well I prepare my plan. Looking forward to a great run in the next Freshworks Chennai Marathon(FCM), I will consistently be focusing on self-improvement. If you’re a runner or aspiring to be one, I personally recommend having a plan and sticking to it consistently to bring out your best in the next year.

Sharpen your saw throughout the year, and the tree(next FCM) will fall with a single cut.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. In the future, I’ll be sharing my experiences with various running events and related topics. Feel free to share your thoughts or experiences in the comments!

--

--

Deepak kumar

Experienced software engineer specializing in Ruby on Rails, MySQL, and GraphQL. Beyond coding, as a former kho-kho player, I now find joy in running marathons.