I Tired The Viral TikTok Baked Feta Pasta. Here’s How it a Went

Megan Deschaine
2 min readFeb 13, 2022

--

Recently, I have loved finding new recipes on Pinterest and trying them in my kitchen. Cooking has been a surprisingly great way for me to decompress after work, and the warm, fuzzy feeling I get after making something delicious is unlike anything else. I love putting on an apron and whipping up something delectable.

I went the longest time without TikTok, and promised myself I would avoid the endless wormhole of content and spend less time on my phone. While I did not find this recipe on TikTok, whenever I tell people about this recipe, they ask me, “did you get that from TikTok?”

I first tried this recipe after stumbling across it in the morning, having the ingredients Instacart-ed to my job, and jumping into the kitchen when I got home that evening.

This entire meal takes less than 45 minutes to make, and most of the work is done in the oven. The short list of ingredients is as follows:

  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Fresh spinach
  • Feta cheese
  • Rigatoni
  • EVOO

My steps are so simple, I could make this dish in my sleep. I’m so happy to share it because it’s that effortless!

1. Preheat oven to 375°. Dump two cups of cherry tomatoes into a 13x9 baking dish.

Coat with 2 tablespoons of EVOO.

2. Push tomatoes to the sides of the baking dish. Place an 8 ounce block of feta cheese in

the middle of the dish.

**I find that 8 ounces of feta cheese crumbles also works just as well.**

3. Drizzle 2 more tablespoons of EVOO over feta cheese. Sprinkle garlic powder, onion

powder, oregano, pepper, and chili flakes over cheese and tomatoes to your liking.

Bake at 375° for 35 minutes.

4. As time winds down on the roasting tomatoes and cheese, cook one pound of rigatoni pasta until al dente. Add one package of fresh spinach to the boiling water, one hand-full at a time, until wilted. Drain entire pot.

5. Smash roasted feta cheese and combine with tomatoes until rather homogenous. Add pasta and wilted spinach, and fold to combine. I use my largest Kitchenaid Mixing Bowl, which is big enough for the whole batch and has a non-slip ring on the bottle of the bowl, so it doesn’t slide around while I’m mixing away.

& there you have it. 5 simple steps to make a sure-fire hit!
Go forth and conquer

--

--

Megan Deschaine

Reader, amateur cook, and newby graphic designer. diy queen and learner of new things. Ophthalmology nerd and vision advocate. AKPsi alum.