Our Vision is Optimized to See Structure

The Gestalt Principles of Visual Perception Explained

Mackenzie Dierker
5 min readNov 30, 2023

Our vision is optimized to see structure. When we see similar objects, we group them together and see them as a whole. When we see missing spaces or gaps in objects, our brains automatically fill those spaces in. But why does our brain do this?

We have been observing different objects for as long as we can remember, and through these experiences, we understand what objects should look like. We recognize the figures’ similarity and see ways to connect them.

Completed “STRUCTURE” poster design created by Mackenzie Dierker

Gestalt recognized these vision tendencies and created seven design principles, as explained in Chapter 2: “Our Vision is Optimized to See Structure” in the book Designing with the Mind in Mind by Jeff Johnson. Gestalt’s seven principles include proximity, similarity, continuity, closure, symmetry, figure/ground, and common Fate.

To better understand these principles, I made a poster design to explain each visually. The poster pictured above shows each letter as a specific design principle:

Common Fate (S): Our vision groups objects that vary slightly or move positions as moving groups. The letter S has several other letters behind it, which appear as though the letters are the previous movements of the S.

Similarity & Symmetry (T): When we see similarities and symmetry between objects, our vision sees these objects as a group. The letter T has two symmetrical and similar pieces, allowing our vision to view them as a whole.

Continuation (R): Our vision also can fill in missing space for objects that appear to be missing information. The object disconnects the letter R in between, but our vision still views the letter as a continuous form.

Proximity (U): Items that are closer together appear grouped. The circles for the letter U are close together, allowing our vision to view them as a whole.

Closure (C): Our vision automatically closes objects to view disconnected pieces as a whole. The letter C is disconnected, but our vision still views the letter as a whole.

Figure/Ground (E): Our vision separates objects into foreground and background based on our primary attention. The letter E pops out from the background color as it is our primary focus.

Crazy 8

To begin my poster design, I quickly sketched eight concepts. This method is called crazy 8. The technique encourages quick ideation so designers can create a solution in less time. I sketched the idea for each concept by relating each to one of the design principles. Can you guess which of the Gestalt principles each drawing is showing?

Crazy eight sketching process for poster design

Refining the Sketches

After creating eight sketches, I analyzed my design to choose the two that portrayed the concept best. After further analysis, I made a poster incorporating all my drawings and refined my second sketch. I settled for the final design shown below because the best way to explain the theory is by including each of the seven Gestalt principles in my design.

Drafted “STRUCTURE” poster design (Prototype)

Survey Says…

After building a more refined project draft, I needed to send the poster out for testing. This step in the design process was enlightening because it helped me understand how my audience interpreted my design. The survey helped me know what worked and what didn’t. I created a survey showing the prototype for my design pictured above a workspace desk and asked questions about it. I sent my test to four college students studying a major outside of design and one in an unrelated design field so that I could understand how those who may be less likely to understand the Gestalt principles interpret my design.

During my test, I was surprised that many survey participants did not register the word as intended. The most critical feedback from the testing was that the participants claimed the darker purple of the letter “E” was more prominent than the lighter purple. Some participants claimed the letter “U” was also challenging to see. While many of the participants correctly understood which design principle was resembled by each letter, many claimed they were guessing. With these responses, it was clear my design needed revisions.

Completed “STRUCTURE” poster design created by Mackenzie Dierker

What Needs More “Structure”?

I changed my poster design to address the revisions needed through the survey responses. I learned that I needed to create labels for each letter so the audience could understand what each letter was showing. I also needed to revise the letter “U” to make it clearer and change the colors of the letter “E”. I also decided to finalize my prototype by adjusting the color pallet and cleaning up the design.

How’d I do?

Following the steps to completion of this design project was a learning experience. The most beneficial step in this process for me was testing. Creating a survey for others to complete helped me see my design from others’ perspectives. I often become blinded by my design to see what I want to see, but through the survey, I could see through others’ eyes. Overall, I enjoyed the experience of designing this poster, but the most challenging part was the sketching phase. Previously, I would create designs by sketching for as little or as long as it took me to generate a sufficient idea. This time, I only had a small amount of time to draw seemingly imperfect/sloppy drawings to craft ideas. I ran out of ideas quickly, so to encourage more, I took a break, reread the description of seven Gestalt principles to gain a better understanding, and restarted my crazy eight sketches. While I didn’t use any of my drawings in the end, this step still helped me ideat my final concept through the brainstorming/sketching of ideas. I am happy with how my final design turned out and plan to use these steps for my future designs.

--

--

Mackenzie Dierker
0 Followers

I am a Interactive Design student at Maryville university.