Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless 2 vs AirPods Pro

Best Active Noise Cancelling Earbuds

Md Jahid Shah
9 min readAug 16, 2022
Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless 2 vs AirPods Pro
Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless 2 vs AirPods Pro

If you’re in the market for some premium Bluetooth earbuds, you’ve probably had these two on your radar at some point. The Apple AirPods Pro and the Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless 2 headphones. On paper, they sport a lot of the same features, namely a premium price tag, and active noise cancellation.

So which ones should you get?

Let’s get started with the price first. AirPods retail for $250, while the Sennheiser is coming at $200, a difference of about $50.

I won’t say too much about this, because how significant the price differences will be up to you. And before we get into the actual features and everything of the earbuds, I just want to say that both of these are really great, polished products that each come with their own set of strengths as well as weaknesses. And whichever one you end up picking, you’ll probably be happy with.

I don’t think there’s really a wrong choice to make here. Both of them are really great in their own ways. That being said, one of these may fit your lifestyle better than the other.

Depending on my experience, I have written this short story on “Sennheiser momentum true wireless 2 vs AirPods pro”. These are:

1. Fit & Comfort

So let’s take a look at the above picture and hopefully it will help you understand better which one will suit your lifestyle. So seeing these side by side, you’ll probably notice that the AirPods are significantly smaller, both the case and the earbuds themselves.

The case of the AirPods is about half as thick as the Sennheisers and a good chunk smaller in every other dimension as well. And this is pretty important to me. Because the size of the case determines whether or not it will fit into the average pocket comfortably. And I want to put a little bit of emphasis on the word comfortably, because it may fit into an average pocket, but if it’s really uncomfortable, I’m not going to want to do that, and it’s going to make me not want to bring these places.

So while the Sennheisers will technically fit into a normal pocket, it will leave a big, uncomfortable, awkward bulge. And let’s be honest, no one wants to see that the AirPods are small enough that you can put them into your pocket and barely notice that they’re there.

AirPods Pro
AirPods Pro

And personally, this is a big deal because as something I’ll mainly be using on the go, how easy it is to carry around is a major factor. The actual earbuds of the AirPods are also much smaller than those of the Sennheisers, which makes the AirPods a little bit more comfortable.

They feel pretty similar in the year because they both use silicon ear tips, but because the Sennheisers are just so much larger, they feel a little bit more invasive. And I know that’s kind of a weird word to use, but I feel like when I’m wearing them, they just make contact with a lot more of my ear and they go a lot further in, so I really notice how big they are.

The AirPods are overall much smaller and as an added bonus, they also have a vent on the side to equalize uncomfortable pressure that may build up from jamming the tips into your ear. And surprisingly, it actually works pretty well.

2. Battery Life.

Battery life is quite a bit better on the Sennheisers, with 7 hours in the earbuds and three more charges in the case. With AirPods, you get 4.5 hours in the earbuds and four more charges in the case.

Although I usually don’t have earbuds in for that long anyways, so for me personally it’s just not that big of a deal. Either of these will work just fine for me in the battery department. If battery life is important to you though, Sennheiser is definitely a win here.

But even though the Sennheisers allow for a longer listening time, they do have some issues with comfort and you may find that you won’t be able to take advantage of that long battery life anyways. Like I said earlier, the Sennheisers are just very large and there’s just no way around that with the shape of their ear.

Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless 2
Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless 2

When I’m wearing them, I can just really feel the housing kind of pushing against the tissues of the ear, and over time that causes discomfort.

The AirPods will also cause some discomfort and soreness in my ears after long periods of use, but to a lesser extent than the Sennheisers. So for a long listening session, I would definitely take the AirPods over the Sennheisers, at least for my ear shape.

3. Size and Weight

For my ears, the fit of the AirPods also seems to be a little bit better than the Sennheisers, but that may also just be because of the size and weight difference.

While neither of them has a secure fit option, the AirPods tend to stay more secure in my ears and if I’m going on a run or going to the gym, I would be much more comfortable taking the AirPods.

4. Charging Methods.

Charging is a bit of a toss-up though because on the Sennheisers you get USB charging and I’m all for that, but it’s missing wireless charging.

On the AirPods, you get wireless charging, but it has a Lightning connector and not a USB.

Personally, I think if I had to choose I would go with USB, but I would just rather not have to choose.

They also both have a quick charge feature in the Sennheisers. If you leave the earbuds in the case for ten minutes. You get one and a half hours of playtime with AirPods. You get 1 hour of playtime with a five-minute charge. Although I really doubt you’ll notice a difference with a quick charge rate in the real world.

And I’m just really glad that both of them have a quick charge feature in the first place. Because it really does come in handy.

5. Noise Cancellation.

Another feature that comes in really handy and has almost become a prerequisite for headphones that I use in the future is Active Noise Cancellation.

You definitely don’t need it, but it’s kind of like 120 Hz displays where once you experience it, it’s hard to ever go back. Active Noise Cancellation, just allows you to enjoy your music in noisy environments without having to crank up the volume, which may cause some damage to your ears.

But not all ANC was created equal, and from my experience, I like the implementation on the AirPods just a little bit more. So with the AirPods, when you put them in your ears and the ANC turns on, it kind of feels like there’s a whoosh and then all the sound around you just fades away.

But with the Sennheiser, the whoosh is still there, but it just doesn’t feel quite as powerful. But I also think it’s worth mentioning that I feel like Apple kind of cheated here. Because when you first take the earbuds out of the case and into your ears.

They go into a transparency mode. Which is the opposite of ANC. Where it actually amplifies the background sounds. Which I think makes the difference when the ANC finally does kick in much more jarring. And it just feels a lot more powerful that way.

I’m not sure how much sense that made, but the point is that the noise cancelation and the AirPods are a little bit better than the Sennheisers.

But one of the advantages of the Sennheisers having a less aggressive ANC system is that you don’t get quite as much of the pressure feeling that inherently comes with Active Noise Cancellation.

So if you’re really sensitive to that feeling, you may actually prefer the Sennheisers in the area.

Another advantage of a less aggressive Active Noise Cancellation system is a smaller impact on audio quality. While neither of these sound bad, the Sennheisers clearly come out ahead in this race. I would say that the AirPods are a little bit more mid-forward, so the vocals tend to be a bit more clear in songs, which is great if you’re into that type of sound.

6. Equalizer (EQ).

Apple also claims to have an adaptive EQ that apparently will change the EQ based on the shape of your ear, which is cool, I guess, but to be totally honest, I couldn’t tell you if it actually does anything.

On the Sennheisers, you get an actual adjustable EQ so you can tune the drivers to your liking, although it is a bit hard to get fine adjustments from the way that they implemented it. They just give you one movable point that you’re supposed to use to adjust everything, which I’m assuming they did for simplicity and ease of use. But I don’t know. Sometimes it just feels like the way that the line moves when you move the dot doesn’t make that much sense. But once you do get it set the way that you want, these sound exceptionally good for a pair of in your headphones.

7. Base Response.

And the biggest advantage that these have over the AirPods in the sound department is the base response. Like the base in the AirPods Pro already isn’t bad, but the Sennheisers just take it to another level. So if you really want that thumping base, the Sennheisers are definitely the way to go.

8. Audio Delay Issue.

The Sennheisers also suffer from an issue that their pods don’t, and that is an audio delay. So with the Sennheisers, only the right earbud has the ability to communicate with your phone. So basically, the Bluetooth signal will have to go from your phone to the right earbud and then to the left one. And that extra step causes an audio delay of about one to 2 seconds. And it’s just really annoying because when you’re watching a video with someone talking, the audio won’t match up with the person’s mouth.

With the AirPods, each earbud can connect with your phone individually, so the signal can go directly to both earbuds at the same time. And there’s no audio delay that way. This also has the benefit of being able to use either earbud by itself. With the Sennheiser, you can only do that with the right earbud.

9. Open & Close The Cases

And last thing, and maybe even the most important, how satisfying is it to open and close the cases?

After using both, in my personal opinion, I give the AirPods the win on that one. It just feels more solid and satisfying. Also easier to operate with one hand. So after all said and done, which one would I recommend?

Personal Opinion.

And personally, in my Use case, I would go for the AirPods Pro, and here’s why.

my opinion
My Opinion

So the way that I see it the Sennheiser’s have two main advantages over the AirPods battery life and sound quality, while the AirPods have portability and no audio delay.

I know that there’s other stuff that I mentioned and those things are in my opinion. So, close that they shouldn’t really be deciding factors, and for me the advantages that the AirPods offer outweigh those that the Sennheiser does. So I would pick them over the Sennheiser. But at the same time, I don’t think you would be unhappy with either of these earbuds.

If after hearing about my experience with both of these earbuds you are still learning about the Sennheiser go for the Sennheiser. I don’t think that they are a badass option at all and all these suggest my opinion for my use case and everybody is different. You may have a different opinion than me and that’s totally fine. Anyways that’s all for this one.

Hope it will help you, if you feel it is informative, then share it with your friends.

Thank you.

To check both earbuds with updated prices visit the link. Click here.

--

--