Is Meal Prepping for You?

The Meal Prep Chef
4 min readNov 10, 2016

--

Do you value your time, your health, and your money? If your answer is yes, then meal prepping is definitely for you.

It’s that simple. And it boils down to convenience.

The number one reason we are not eating healthy today is because it is not convenient. With time constraints being a common denominator for the vast majority of us, eating healthy has never been as difficult as it is today. We simply don’t have the time to maintain a healthy diet around our busy schedules, especially if we have other mouths to feed.

So in the interest of time, we often sacrifice our health or money in search of more convenient ways of eating. That’s how fast food, processed foods, and eating out easily become quick fix alternatives and eventually part of our daily diet.

The problem is that the wholesome food we need is not readily available when we need it.

Think about it. If you always had healthy, delicious food in front of you — if it was only that convenient — , what would be the chances of you going through a drive-thru or snacking on the first candy bar that crossed your path?

Because if you’re anything like me, when hunger turns into “hanger”, you will eat anything in front of you and NOTHING will get in your way. Your diet goes out the window and you pay whatever amount it takes to satiate the “hangry” beast that possessed you. So you end up eating things that make you feel like you need a shower.

Alright, that’s a bit dramatic but I’m sure you’ve been there and know exactly what I’m talking about.

The good news is that you can avoid that downward spiral by making eating healthy convenient for you. It is entirely possible to have healthy food in front of you at all times. Not only that, it can also be incredibly delicious.

So how do we do that? How can we have wholesome, delicious food at our disposal at all times in a way that does not sacrifice our time, our health, or our money?

In comes meal prepping.

“But isn’t that for fitness nuts”, you might interject.

Yes, meal prepping was introduced by the fitness community as a way to make eating healthy more convenient for them. The objective was to allow athletes to maintain strict diets around their busy training schedules by always having the food they need available to them. Taste was not really a priority as long as their nutritional requirements were met in a convenient way.

For those of you not familiar with the technique, meal prepping involves planning and cooking your meals in bulk ahead of time, and portioning them into meal-sized containers that you can freeze/refrigerate and take anywhere you go.

The technique worked wonders for the fitness community and became a huge time and money saver. But these benefits quickly attracted people outside of this community and became appealing to anyone looking to eat healthier while saving more time and money.

I adopted the technique myself about a year ago and immediately benefited from it. My weeknights were suddenly freed up to do other things I enjoy doing. After coming home from work, I didn’t have to worry about what’s for dinner or for lunch tomorrow. I spent less money eating out or buying junk food and, honestly, I just didn’t crave it. Not to mention the health benefits. Meal prepping has helped me get in the best shape of my life and I am healthier than ever.

I had finally found a way of cooking and eating that fit my lifestyle.

But it took a lot of trial and error to master the technique. Being a hardcore foodie and chef at heart, I initially wanted to make my meals delicious by using my favorite recipes and cooking methods, but quickly learned that they were too labor-intensive to work with the technique. So your mom’s traditional recipes probably won’t work without adjustments.

You see, meal prepping requires cooking a lot of food at once, which is NOT the same as cooking dinner for two. It can be an intimidating and overwhelming process at first. You are often cooking 20 plus meals at once and, unless you are willing to spend an entire day in the kitchen, the technique and recipes need to be very simple.

The challenge for me was to find simple recipes that worked with the technique but that also satisfied my demanding palate.

So I began fine-tuning it until I found the perfect balance of taste, efficiency, and integrity. Now I don’t spend more time than I need to in the kitchen and have a repertoire of incredibly delicious recipes to choose from. I have also mastered and perfected the technique to make it very easy and enjoyable.

I created the Meal Prep Chef because I know most of us have a hard time balancing our time, our health, and our money. I want to help you adopt a new, smarter way of cooking that fits your lifestyle. I will teach you the technique along with healthy, delicious recipes that work with it.

So if you are convinced that Meal Prepping is for you and want to master the technique, be sure to subscribe to my blog and follow me at mealprep.kitchen. Whether your diet is paleo, vegetarian, or vegan, or just healthy, my technique and recipes will allow you to maintain it in a very convenient way. I will also show you how to snack smarter.

Stay tuned for more.

--

--

The Meal Prep Chef

I created this blog to share meal prepping tips, recipes, and insights on how I build my business from the ground up.