Week 0: Before the coding bootcamp

MedaCodes
5 min readFeb 25, 2017

--

From Entrepreneur to Developer?

For as much as I believed that Hackbright was out of my reach, in words of Paulo Coelho, “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

Can’t I just make my own app? That was the question I posed to myself after I started using a third party app for the dog walking business I founded back in 2015. Prior to starting the business, I worked in banking and inspired by the number of entrepreneurial clients we serviced I followed my entrepreneurial dreams. Little did I know that I would soon go from entrepreneur to aspiring software developer.

Initially, I learned to code with the hope of coding an app for my business. However, after a couple months of Code Academy’s tutorials I started to spend more and more time continuing my programming education. A year after tinkering with Free Code Camp and subsequently enrolling in an introductory C++ course at a community college, I had a talk with myself. You know, one of those, what do I really want in life, kind of conversations.

Why I want to build software

  1. Love numbers: I have forever loved numbers and logic. I went in finance with the hope of breaking into investment banking only because I loved building financial models on Excel. If only I had learned about programming then, since programming is like Excel on steroids.
  2. Love to solve puzzles: Programming gives side to my creative side. When I took the C++ course I really enjoyed figuring how to use the conceps I learned in class to write a mini calculator. Also, there is something magical about typing code and seeing your output on the screen, no?
  3. A forever student: My second love after programming is reading, mostly historical fiction and self-help books (yes, I hear ya… judging the self-help -_-). I particularly lean on books because I find that they help me to develop and grow as a person. In my intellectual pursuits, I operate much the same way. Given that developer tools and technology itself is constantly changing, I know that I will be a forever student of programming. I like it that way!

In the middle of 2015, I made the decision that I would start looking at programming bootcamps or possibly going back to a university for a degree in computer science. My very traditional mother kept twisting my arm to go back to school and I finally decided to take a step forward towards a university program. Little did I know that soon I would meet someone that would charm my heart and bring me to California.

From Maryland to Stanford

Exactly a year ago, I came to San Francisco for the first time and I fell in love with the city and one of it’s residents. I recall trying to go to every single Meetup event that week and often trying to connect with the programmers I met during the networking events. I distinctly remember Jen (not her real name, ah, I wish I had written it down). I told her how I had been teaching myself to program and felt that I was not making much progress. By then, I knew I wanted to become a software developer, but I had no idea how. Jen told me she had attended Hackbright Academy, an all women’s programming bootcamp in San Francisco. She talked about the supportive environment, top-notch curriculum, and the alumni network. Jen’s boss joined us at the table and raved about Hackbright too!

As excited as I was to attend a program like Hackbright, I quickly filed that option away. I could not afford the tuition, much less the cost of living in the most expensive city in the United States. Months later, my boyfriend convinced me to take a leap of faith and before I knew it, my pet bunny and I hit the road for a cross country trip from Maryland to Stanford (my boyfriend is a student there).

Before moving from Maryland to Stanford my plan was to take all of the pre-requesites of a CS major online and apply to a graduate program to be a “real” programmer later on. I now know that programmers come from all walks of life, with PhDs, coding bootcamps, and even purely self-taught folks. There were days where I learned quite a lot, and there also stretches of weeks where life happened (work, family, a marathon…of Netflix shows). Every couple of days, I would read articles about bootcamp graduates making the transition but I would tell myself that it was not an option I could afford. Best to file it away, yet again.

Two kind people ❤

During the course of my time in Stanford, I met two amazing people who encouraged me to apply to coding bootcamps, particularly Hackbright. In moments of doubt, they cheered me on and lifted my spirits. Before I knew, I submitted my application to Hackbright in January. I worked on the code challenge for days on end because it had to be perfect. I practiced for my video interview with my friends, my boyfriend, and even my bunny. Weeks later, I found out I had been accepted. For as much as I believed that Hackbright was out of my reach, in words of Paulo Coelho, “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

I am now embarking on a different journey. I am ready !

Follow me on Instagram, for my daily coding bootcamp updates or on Medium for weekly updates!

Thanks for reading this post! If you enjoyed what you read, I’d really appreciate it if you recommend this post (by clicking the ❤ button) so other people can see it!.

--

--

MedaCodes

PM at New Relic / Former programmer and lover of books and pitties!