Starting Keto: Day 5

Introducing carbs

Mat Morrison
2 min readMay 18, 2017

(Previously: day 4, day 3, day 2, day 1)

I’ve dropped more weight: 0.9kg to hit 76kg. Keen not to lose weight too fast, but still believe this is mostly “water weight” coming off. I think I’ll stay at this calorie intake for another week, then see whether I need to scale up or down based on weight loss rate.

Pre-workout

  • Cyclic dextrin (20g)
  • BCAA (6g)
  • Beta Alanine (5g)
    Net carbs: 20
    kcal: 104

Today was deadlift day, so I decided to try the additional carbs (cyclic dextrin) in my pre-workout drink. I spend 20 – 30 minutes foam rolling, warming up, and mobilising before lifting. Lots of people just warm up ‘on the bar’, but I’ve generally got to overcome the additional stiffness and soreness brought on by running. Usually take a 200mg caffeine tablet as well – but forgot.

Lifting was OK. Not great. Failed on the fifth rep (of five) at 120kg – but this may have been because I was concentrating harder on the negative movement.

Went on to perform single leg kettle bell deadlifts and Romanian deadlifts just fine. Today was hamstrings day, really.

Post-workout

  • Whey protein (25g)
  • Creatine monohydrate (5g)
    Net carbs: 0
    kcal: 112

Lunch

  • Goats cheese (100g)
  • Celery (150g)
  • Asparagus (50g)
  • Walnuts (20g)
    Net carbs: 5g
    kcal: 496

This was pretty damn good. I have another goats cheese in the fridge for the weekend. However, I have bought too much celery.

Supper

  • Chicken (150g)
  • Streaky bacon (40g/2 rashers)
  • Avocado (110g)
  • Shirataki noodles (113g)
  • Coconut oil (10g)
  • Sesame oil (1 tbsp)
  • Net carbs: 6g
  • kcal: 932

Good, but not great as a meal. I’d been out all afternoon and had to skip my afternoon meal. Meant I really had to pile on the calories here.

Evening snack

  • Keto shake
  • Net carbs: 5.2g
  • kcal: 422

Daily summary

Net carbs: 36.2
kcal: 2,067

--

--

Mat Morrison

Misanthropic Social Media strategy chap. Amateur data sleuth.