“Do you want help?” and the internal struggle of an aspiring entrepreneur.

Nichole Morris
3 min readApr 27, 2024

How I picture myself when a friend asks what I’m ‘doing’ in business because it’s followed by ‘do you want help?’ when they realize I’m lost or failing miserably:

My pride wants to scream, ‘NO HELP NEEDED! I’m totally not drowning here.”

It’s funny considering a year ago, I had zero business friends. All those “lean on your network” articles made me want to scream. What network? Am I supposed to get a volleyball, draw a face, and call it Wilson? Hi Wilson you’re my only friend.

Because THIS only looks good on TV not real like.

Then I found the internet. Turns out social media isn’t just cat videos and memes (although, let’s be real, is awesome). It’s also where you can find cool people building things. When you are an aspiring entrepreneurs like me living in a city with no local community it’s a lifeline.

So finding people who are already in business or scaling blew my mind. And they want to see me win? Still in shock.

Then these questions started rolling in:

One of many incredible people.

But here’s the thing: when does accepting help become a form of procrastination? Especially when I’m, well, clueless?

Right now my ‘business’ is a confusing mix between Google Trends telling me, ‘nobody is looking for this’ and my own head screaming, ‘are you undervaluing your skills or are they a figment of your imagination?’ Maybe I suck at marketing? Who knows.

But here’s the debate:

On one hand, these conversations are important. People, even new connections, see strengths I miss. Hell, because I said “yes” to some of their help, I started a podcast, fixed my whole “money is evil” speech, and I’m doing things I never thought possible. Who knows where the next conversation will lead?

But then the other side chimes in: You should talk to and listen the problems in your community. Offer solutions and get paid to solve it for them.

As I write this, though, I realize why it doesn’t have to be so black and white. Maybe I’m taking the lack of immediate results people who choose to help me or people not wanting my help too personally.

To be honest, that drowning feeling hits when I can’t solve a problem. Makes me think maybe I’m not cut out for this.

But either my creativity is dormant or I lack the experience to find a solution faster. So I’m grateful to have people willing to help or other people sharing their work online. And when I talk to people, even if I don’t have a solution, I can learn, recommend someone I know, or keep it top of mind if anything comes up.

Truth is, from where I’m standing, there’s no clear “right” answer.

It’s ironic, really. Nobody builds a business entirely alone, but knowing when to accept help and when to go it alone is a personal choice.

Anyway, I think the real question is where your ego is when people ask to help.

--

--

Nichole Morris

here to help you feel less alone failing at starting a business.