Managing Menopause: The Game-Changing Diet Tweak I Made

--

And 5 Easy Ways To Eat More Of It

I was midway into leading a routine meeting at work with my clients at a Fortune 100 tech company. My body temperature rose, my skin flushed and I started to sweat. I wasn’t nervous. I was in menopause.

I was 49. My period and I had been like two ships passing in the night for several months, but I’d never been one to monitor it closely. Come to think of it, the last couple of years had been hit or miss. The disarming thing about menopause is that you don’t know whether or not your period is coming back until one day your gynecologist asks:

“How long has it been since your last period?”

“About a year?”

This was it, I was in menopause.

Going through menopause not knowing what’s to come feels a little scary. Beyond the hot flashes, things seemed to be bothering me more than usual at work. I was feeling down and it was out of the norm. I decided I should learn more about what to expect. I picked up a book about menopause and the brain. I was relieved to learn that the mood swings I was experiencing were the result of changing hormone levels.

Continuing to operate in the world as if menopause didn’t exist, especially at work, felt disheartening at times. Why weren’t more women I knew talking about this?

My mood returned to normal after 3–4 months. The hot flashes continued and seemed to amp up during the warmer summer months.

As fall arrived, I decided to amp up my fitness routine. I started exercising daily. I was attending Bar Method classes and starting to build more muscle.

Shortly after, I began to notice I was craving tofu. I listened to the cravings. Tofu, tempeh, and edamame quickly became staples on my shopping list. I now consume one of these nearly daily in snacks and meals.

The outcome I didn’t expect? My hot flashes went away!

I’ve since learned that my experience is supported by research. The phytoestrogens in soy have structures similar to estrogen and may have the same effect of regulating the processes influenced by estrogen in the body. These include protecting the brain, boosting mood, and improving sex. The phytoestrogens in soy may also reduce the risk for cardiovascular disease, stroke, coronary heart disease, and some cancers, including breast cancer; as well as improve bone health. The phytoestrogens in soy are safe for everyone, including women who’ve had breast cancer.

Soy is a low cost, whole food alternative to other treatments and may be a tool you too, can add to your arsenal. It’s worth noting I’d been plant-based, mostly whole-foods, for about 6 years when I started menopause. Results may vary!

After experimenting with different ways to incorporate more soy into my meals, here’s what I found to be the easiest and most time-saving.

5 easy ways to add more soy to your diet:

Get an air fryer

I wasn’t sure I needed one (yet another appliance?!) until I made my first batch of air-fried tofu. Now I’ll never go back. The taste, texture, and quick cooking time of cubed tofu tossed in spices will have you hooked. If you have a non-stick air-fryer, this can be as simple as a 1-ingredient dish — throw in the cubed tofu, set the temperature and time, and it’s done. Check out recipes online for spice ideas and cooking times.

Air-fried tofu

Batch prep

Make tofu or tempeh and frozen edamame a few times per week and keep it in the fridge. Pro tip: cook two packages of tofu or tempeh at a time. You’ll go through these fast if they are part of your daily meals.

If you’re short on time and budget is not an issue, many grocery stores sell cooked edamame alongside sushi.

Extra-firm tofu

Take it to go

You’ve heard about grabbing fruit and nuts for to-go snacks, but what about tofu? Throw your air-fried tofu or cooked edamame in a bag when you’re going to be away from home for a few hours. Snacks and meals on the go can be health-promoting when you expand beyond pre-packaged foods.

Edamame

Make buddha bowls or a stir-fry

Buddha bowls and stir-frys are among my favorite meals because they don’t require a recipe, specific amounts, or even everything to be cooked at the same time. Experiment with different combinations of foods. Bowls and stir-frys can be made of anything you have in the fridge or pantry. Do a fridge clean out, and throw it all in.

Tofu stir-fry

Keep it simple

Healthy, satisfying meals can be as simple as 3 ingredients. Don’t get stuck feeling like meals have to be complicated to be delicious and satisfying. Try a large portion of steamed vegetables, a serving of tofu, and some quinoa or rice.

You may be wondering how much soy I eat. I average about 4 ounces daily. A 3-ounce serving of Hodo extra firm tofu contains 14 grams of protein, 2 grams of fiber, 20% of the daily value of calcium, and 15% of the daily value of iron.

If you’re experiencing hot flashes, night sweats, and other symptoms, the phytoestrogens in soy may be a powerful complement to a diet rich in whole plant foods.

If you have any concerns or questions about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other healthcare professional.

Grab my free newsletter, delivered straight to your inbox every Monday. There is power in plants!

--

--

Meg Crosby, The Plant Powered Body

Previously a talent leader in Big Tech, Meg is on a mission to empower others to prioritize their health. https://theplantpoweredbody.com