Everyday UIUX: The Dorm Chair

Megan Kasselberg
3 min readSep 20, 2018

In Brown University dorms, we are given a set of standard dorm room furniture. This includes, but is not limited to, a bed, a desk, a dresser or shelf and a chair. I’m a junior, and still haven’t gotten over how weird these chairs are. Dorms chairs are like nothing I’ve ever seen before: they rock backwards when any weight is applied.

The dorm room chair in its natural habitat

I have many critiques of the rocking function. I hate it when I’m in the middle of a problem set or essay and rock backwards. It’s inconvenient and, truthfully, frightening. I feel silly. The chair’s primary function is seating, and I feel like the rocker stops it from being able to serve its function. Furthermore, if I need to hang up a poster or reach a shelf in my closet, I can’t count on my chair: it’ll just rock back and forth, and quickly cause me to lose my balance. I don’t think I’ve ever sat in a chair and thought “wow, I wish this rocked backwards” or “dang, this party would be way better if I could more fully lounge in my chair.”

I can think of many reasons why a designer might have thought this was a great idea. Maybe they thought this rocking feature would help the chair function as both a studious desk companion and seating for a party or hanging out, with a backwards recline that lends an air of comfort and casualness. Maybe it acts as a sort of adjustment, becoming an “any size fits all” chair that can work for any size of user and provide for more back support. Maybe it was designed purely so that when kids rocked backwards in their chairs, balancing their weight on the chair’s back two legs, they wouldn’t fall or break it.

This company knows that it is selling to University administrators who are concerned about price, longevity and safety. They’re selling to a massive account, and their direct customers will not be using the chair on a daily basis. In this sense, its design has more to do with the image of a college student and his or her imagined needs than full-time users. I will say, it’s learnability and memorability are extremely high. I‘d rank its efficiency, on the other hand, quite low.

This got me thinking about how I would design a chair for my room, beyond eliminating the rocker, in a way that would cater to my needs. My chair would have handles, for writing at my desk or balancing a coffee mug, and my chair would have a slightly higher back so that I could relax more easily in it. It would have a fabric panel on its wooden back, and a comfortable fabric cushion as its base. I’ve drawn a sketch below. Additionally, I’d love to hear any thoughts that any other students might have. Maybe we can design the perfect dorm room chair.

A new kind of dorm chair: functional, comfortable and far more pleasing

--

--