The Two-Step Flow Theory applied in the life of a 23 year old

Megan Foley
2 min readMay 17, 2023

--

The Two- Step Flow Theory proposes that “interpersonal interaction has a far stronger effect on shaping public opinion than mass media outlets.”

Interpersonal interactions can include the influence of opinion leaders such as influencers, celebrities or government officials to name a few. Opinion leaders are well informed in terms of the topic of discussion and share this knowledge with others.

GATHERING NEWS

I consume most of my news nowadays from TikTok. As I scroll through my FYP, I learn a lot about a wide variety of topics. In accordance with the Two- Step Flow theory, this information is not being dished to me solely by media outlets- it is instead by opinion leaders in that field.

Amelie, is an Influencer who holds a large space on TikTok spreading awareness and information about a variety of causes. https://www.tiktok.com/@ameliezilber?lang=en

When I’m looking for information in regards to something that occurred, I scroll through my feed to see what my friends have posted about it or go through a hashtag on twitter to learn more. I take a bunch of information from people posting all over to become informed on the topic- rather then just reading an article from ABC News.

Likewise, a lot of times, the first time I will hear about a massive event is by my friends’ stories on Instagram. A lot of news stories are brought to social media by a few people and then blow up because of reposts and attention brought to it by key figures.

SHARING NEWS

Social media allows for the Two- Step Flow Theory to really flow in terms of sharing news. I frequently repost stuff to my Instagram Stories that I find to be interesting and informative, share links to articles that I’ve seen or tag a friend in the comments of a video.

As a travel content creator, I know that people have looked through my stuff for recommendations on what to do and where to go. I have also made content that’s shareable and saveable, for people to use when acquiring travel information. I find that in the travel space, information made from personal experience from opinion leaders is more personal and authentic than general posts made from mass media outlets about a travel destination. I will 100% go look through travel influencers pages before I go to an official media outlet for travel inspiration. Below is an example of this! I would rather get information about how to spend a week in Croatia from a travel influencer over an official media outlet.

https://www.tiktok.com/@dens_destinations/video/7147737881795153157?q=Croatia%20itinerary&t=1684365046373

Are there figures you follow on social media to get your news from? Comment below and let us know!

--

--