50 Prepositions

Megan Mary
2 min readDec 24, 2020

--

In the 7th grade, we had to memorize 50 prepositions. Not sure of the pedagogical validity of this assignment, yet each week we regurgitated a list of words onto a page of wide-ruled loose-leaf paper.

About, above, across, after, against, along. Among, around, at, beside, between, beyond, but, by, down. The list was in alphabetical order, so these are the phrases I remember most. When my mind is racing from stress or wandering with boredom, these words sing through my head. Today I checked out a book from the library. As I ventured into the world of George Orwell’s 1984, I felt inspired. The kind of inspiration that comes in an imaginary/not imaginary form. Taylor Swift has coined that phrase now, in an Instagram post promoting her 2nd surprise album in the past 6 months. But long before her fantastical albums graced our ears, I too dealt with a writer inside of me, inspired by me, but not exactly me.

During, except, for, from. It comes back in waves. Like the gusts of wind in a blizzard. Or like the crippling anxiety from a global pandemic. With a wave of memories came a wave of inspiration. It washed over me and I began writing stories in my mind. I wrote about the feelings of nostalgia and loneliness only a Christmastime snowstorm can bring. I wrote about the feelings of bliss and tranquility a full-bodied glass of red can provide. I wrote about the energy and excitement of New York City. In my mind, I wrote these stories.

In, inside, into. That’s about half of the list. I envisioned a series of essays, “On this” and “On that”. Then I envisioned a series of essays, one for every preposition. The flurries of ideas and memories in my mind left me searching for a medium. Or, perhaps, just Medium. A place to draft, a place to share, a place to bring me through, to, toward.

Customarily, one should not end a sentence with a preposition. But this is my story about prepositions and the destination is unknown. So conventions be damned.

--

--