The Lighthouse

Megan Rutherford
2 min readNov 17, 2018

--

I have been meaning to visit this museum as I have heard great things about it. It is quite hidden so not many people will notice it, but the alleyway leading to it looks amazing especially at night.

The whole interior of the building is so modern and well structured. I really loved the interior of this building. I also love that they had escalators because as everyone knows it can get tiring walking all around.

“The Lighthouse, Scotland’s Centre for Design and Architecture, is a visitor centre, exhibition space and events venue situated in the heart of Glasgow, just off the Style Mile. The Lighthouse acts as a beacon for the creative industries in Scotland and promotes design and architecture through a vibrant programme of exhibitions and events.”

Ozturk Modelmakers

This model first caught my eye. There is so much going on in it and the detail in it is just amazing. This room was my favourite as it was mostly models of buildings. I was very stunned by the designs in this room.

View from top of Lighthouse

Although I am terrified of heights I was intrigued to see what was at the top of the spiral stairs. The stairs themselves were beautiful but do not be fouled by their beauty as they are a pain to walk up. I could feel it in my legs once we walked back down. However walking down was much easier than walking up. When we got to the top I'll be honest I was expecting more but the view was beautiful and very calming.

--

--