Being Inspired

Meghan Preiss
1 min readNov 20, 2017

--

I have recently been helping the students out a lot more than I was before. I get to the department at 8:30–9 am and I do not get home until 10 pm most nights…mainly because I am working with students on their projects or showing them inspiring things that are happening in the world.

Alex and I have been asked to teach design movements and design history to the senior boys and so for the past week I have been reading blogs, websites, books, and anything I can find on different design movements from Arts and Crafts to Bauhaus to Streamlining. Honestly, it is incredibly inspiring.

It makes me so flippin’ excited to teach about it because I wish I was taught this in school. I would like to think that I know a lot about designers and the history of design but there are so many little things that are going to stick with me and I hope I portray them in a way that these little things stick with the boys.

I still think Bauhaus is my favorite, even though it is many people’s favorites, I just find it so interesting how far it spread and how it is still INCREDIBLY relevant today, especially in social media.

I might start a blog about fun design history facts… maybe. No promises on that.

Until Next time,

M.

--

--

Meghan Preiss

| strategists | researcher | designer | community builder |