My approach to coaching

Meg Lyons
1 min readMay 30, 2024

--

I have always loved this quote by the Sufi poet, Rumi:

“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing there is a field. I’ll meet you there.”

In many ways, this sums up how I approach coaching.

My client and I meet; in most cases the “field” is a metaphorical one, on a video call.

We explore, without judgment, what’s going on in their lives.

I make a big deal of helping them celebrate, appreciate, and acknowledge themselves.

There is learning in everything.

They come away with a new perspective that helps them make shifts in their lives.

Many of my clients tell me they feel calmer, clearer, and more confident after our sessions.

It’s hard to sum up what coaching is like in words, but this Rumi quote is one I come back to often in terms of how I approach coaching.

What about you? How has working with a coach helped you?

#ship30for30 #coaching

--

--