What is GISH?

Meg Nielsen
2 min readAug 7, 2020

--

GISH stands for Great Increase in Severe Hysteria. Not really, it stands for Greatest International Scavenger Hunt, but I like my acronym better. GISH is a week full of strangers, impossible tasks, and unreasonable pain and suffering. GISH was designed by none other than Misha Collins. From playing Castiel in Supernatural, publishing a cookbook, and being the best father any young weirdo could ask for, this crazy man still finds time to interact with his fans, (although he still ignores me when I ask him to help me get cast as an extra in Supernatural,) and running GISH. This insane scavenger hunt will take you through a whirlwind of emotions as you watch the List of Items get changed several times a day, the Item you were just about to submit be deleted, and your team chat be blowing up with notifications. Drown in confusion as you attempt to set up camp underwater, while you try to bribe your friends to help you design and build a swimsuit made of skittles. Be glued to your screen as you repeatedly click refresh on the updates list, drinking all the water you can. Scream like the crazed fan you are as you realize that you are on a live Zoom call with the Misha Collins, the Jared Padalecki, the Jensen Ackles. Ask them if they’ll take your resume to the casting directors even though you are fully aware they cannot hear you. (Seriously guys, like 2 seconds of screen time. I can be a random demon. A dead body. Anything. I just want to help tell this amazing story.) Experience all these emotions and more when you sign up for GISH, and then wonder if this spontaneous decision was worth it. Wonder where all of your time went and fret about the sudden fall of your bank account and the sudden rise in glitter, skittles, and kale all around your house, cell phone, and body. After a week of t̵o̵t̵a̵l̵ ̵d̵i̵s̵t̵r̵e̵s̵s̵ GISHing, I can say that it has been quite the unique experience, one I will likely never forget (as much as I wish I could.) Although it seemed like a good idea at the time, that was probably just my naivety in thinking it would get me closer to my dream of being an actress. (Really guys, I won’t let it go. I’m not even trying to meet the cast (although I’d love to. Except Misha. He’s mad as a hatter.) I just want to build my resume, and be a part of my favorite show.) From this wacky GISHer to you,

See you in the impala.

--

--