Looking for a design job today… what is it like?

Meg Flanigan
3 min readAug 14, 2020

Currently, I am lucky enough to have a great job during these trying times (bartender). The pandemic has proven one thing at least; People will always drink beer.

Only, I had wanted to transition to a design career by the end of 2020. I paid all the money, did all the work, and now I have a new portfolio and certification.

At the risk of sounding like I’m complaining (I’m not. I sell and drink beer for money and I love it), having a job while also searching for a ‘career’ job is exhausting. I work 25–30 hours a week at my primary work place, mostly at nights, on my feet, talking to people and patiently guiding them like newly 21-year-olds in a forest of craft-brew beer taps.

Me, guiding people to their beer. Herding cats, I tell you.

In the mornings, there are 4–6 hours a day dedicated to freelance art and design commissions. Hopefully I can get some work done on volunteer UX/UI projects to expand my new portfolio. And then, I job hunt.

People who are serious about changing jobs, more specifically changing careers, know the struggle:

• You must perfect your resume, portfolio, and cover letters. Sometimes, to cater to jobs you really want, you must tailor your resume and cover letters. Save all the versions of each one, edit them.
• Researching companies is a multi-level process, looking into who is the head of the department you want to join, checking to see if you have connections to that company, can you email anyone to ask questions about the company?
• Then, applying and follow up. Organizing everything, and keeping track of all the jobs you apply to, what job site did you apply on, who do you email to follow-up on your application?
• Also, those recruiters… or are they spam? I can’t tell. sometimes they’re Emails go junk folders, and their text have spelling error. See what I mean? Would you think an HR director would type like that?!
• Another ‘also’; Don’t forget to keep learning!

It’s all a little overwhelming, especially for a generation whom was taught that your degree will help secure at least an entry level position.

So here I am, working a stable job, a side job, volunteering work to expand my new portfolio, and looking for a new job to start a new career. Do I put all these things on my resume? Interviewers keep asking “ What makes you uniquely qualified for this position?”

Um, I can work 60 hours a week across 8 different platforms while maintaining a patient, pleasant facade for a low-to-average amount of money? (Sarcasm is an asset at the bartending gig, but not sure it will fly in the UX design world. Which is unfortunate, because I like to think I’m an expert at it.)

Breaking into a the design industry is COMPETITIVE…

Anyway, I know everyone is in a difficult situation, but I hope everyone out there who is looking for a job, regardless of whether they have one or not, understands something; You’re extremely qualified, and all the hard work you’re putting in to find a job proves that. You’re doing research, you’re putting the time in, and you’re making connections.

To all my fellow job-hunters, and friends who are changing careers, keep at it.

Soon, hopefully we’ll get paid for that hard work.

Cheers!

--

--