The Company of Stillness

Megumi Burr-Tolliver
2 min readApr 15, 2024

--

I’m writing to you from VortexHealing® Divine Energy Healing class in Virginia Beach. I’m receiving the newest tool, The Magical Jewel, and I’m in the company of the VortexHealing® community with whom I’ve shared my journey through this healing lineage.

And yet, despite the company around me, I often go off on my own during breaks and after class.

I’m choosing the company of stillness.

I’ve found it in the waves here. The waves are quite active and loud, and yet they have an inner stillness that nourishes me. They have no need to tell me what they think, and there is no need for me to tell them what I’m thinking.

The waves have an inner stillness.

I’ve long appreciated this stillness in trees and plants too. They simply do their tree and plant thing, sprouting, flourishing and decaying over years, decades and lifetimes much longer than my own. They are unconcerned with the happenings of my life. This company is comforting.

I went grocery shopping yesterday, and found myself overfull from the input of music, products and people. I came back and sat quietly to re-“land” myself within.

When I take the time and space to nourish the stillness inside, I’ve found that I am increasingly able to carry the stillness in me, even while interacting with people and the busy world.

And so I return often to the stillness — whether it’s in the waves, in the trees and the plants, or simply in sitting quietly with my eyes closed.

® “VortexHealing” is a registered service mark of R. Weinman VH Trust. All rights reserved. Used here with permission. For more information on VortexHealing visit www.vortexhealing.org.

--

--

Megumi Burr-Tolliver

Founder of Compassion Tree Healing, VortexHealing® Divine Energy Healing practitioner, intentional community co-founder, writer. Connect: MegumiBurrTolliver.com