There Is No Such Thing As “My Truth”

Sam Holstein
Lifework
Published in
2 min readMay 18, 2018

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Today’s article is short but sweet. This is the thesis: There is no such thing as “my truth.”

“My truth” is something people like to say these days. You hear it in the mouths of millennials when they are discussing their life experiences.

“I’ve been trying to live my truth lately.”

“We disagree. Your truth is your truth and my truth is mine.”

“I admire the way you speak your truth.”

The phrase “my truth” is usually meant to mean some combination of ‘my opinion’ and ‘my experience.’

Unlike either of these phrases, the phrase “my truth” implies an unarguable quality. You can’t contradict me, because this is my truth.

Except that I can, because there is no such thing as my truth.

Let’s refer to the definition of the word truth:

TRUTH according to dictionary.com

1. the true or actual state of a matter: He tried to find out the truth.
2. conformity with fact or reality; verity: the truth of a statement.
3. a verified or indisputable fact, proposition, principle, or the like: mathematical truths.
4. the state or character of being true.
5. actuality or actual existence.
6. an obvious or accepted fact; truism; platitude.
7. honesty; integrity; truthfulness.
8. (often initial…

--

--

Sam Holstein
Lifework

Articles that teach you how to master your mind ☞ free stuff at www.samholstein.com