Final Project Proposal—Empathy Through Virtual Reality

Megan
4 min readMar 30, 2020

--

For my final project I am going to be creating a virtual reality experience meant to mimic the feeling of depression, in order to instill empathy in those that have not experienced it. I will be creating a couple different scenes within the VR space, each is meant to build upon the emotional turmoil in the last.

This project was initially thought up by my RE group and will most likely be implemented in our final in that class, however due to the ever-changing nature of our year long project and my emotional attachment to this idea I intend to build this version according to my own experiences, and alter it at a later time to fit the other project. I will either be working on this version of the project alone, or with the help of Nick Lunt (who is in my RE group, but has not decided if they want this to be their final project for IMD yet).

I was officially diagnosed with severe depression and anxiety at the age of 12, and while my father was very supportive, he didn’t really know what it meant. My mom, who had experienced depression at a young age herself, tried to explain the heavy, exhausted feelings I was experiencing to him, but to no avail. His response to my low energy and lackluster spirit, like many I’ve heard over the years, was “just get up and do something”. It was only after talking to a licensed phycologist that he stopped saying things like that. I love my dad and I know he loves me, but for years we were unable to communicate clearly to one another due to this experience I was going through that he couldn’t understand.

That’s why I want to create this VR experience; to give people like my father—well meaning but unable to comprehend the depth of the impact of depression on ones life— a way to experience depression and empathize with those effected by it.

Depression is different for everyone, so trying to create an all encompassing experience is unattainable, instead I will be focusing on my own experiences and perceptions of it. I have not decided yet if the experience will be one long one (split into levels, like a video game, showing their completion) or many smaller experiences (taking the goggles off in between, transitioning into a new physical space).

Here are some of the VR ‘stations’ I intend to create as of 3/29/20:

  1. Have them put on the headset and do simple math (they’ll be hearing different numbers and equations through the headset) when they’re done have the voice talk about how it isn’t impossible for everyone to complete this task, but it takes more time and effort than one would originally think.
  2. They are told to find their way ‘Outside’ (no other descriptor is given) The room they appear in is jet black, then arrows start appearing on the floor in front of them. They hear multiple voices telling them which direction to go. If they follow the voices and the arrows they see light peaking out from the outline of a door, but when they walk through it they’re in complete darkness again. If they stay still for 20 or so seconds they hear a single voice say something along the lines of “No-one knows the way out, because everyones room is different.” Or something like that, bringing to light the difference in depressive states.
  3. The room lightens, this time it looks like a bedroom filled with clothes, the pile is so large its blocking the door. The person needs to clear enough of the door in order to ‘get out’, but more things start falling from the ceiling blocking them in (Subtle heartbeat/pressure noises happen here). Then the door opens and other hands are helping remove the clothes (But if you stop removing them, the clothes stop clearing, other people can’t do it for you) together you can clear the room. The hand reaches for you (hand has subtle scars? that show healing), you grab it, the simulation fades to an outdoor scene (much more serene, without the heartbeat/heavy sounds) The narrator says something about the experience (working with your support network is one of the best ways to free yourself etc., Its not always something physical that traps you but that doesn’t make it less intense/real. Draw attention to the fact that this room isn’t the endpoint for many people, {Say it don’t show it} that self harm {and suicide?} is a coping strategy that may use to take themselves out of the room {end on a more positive note? or let the discharge take care of that? Leaning towards ending negatively}) Then something like “This simulation is complete”.

Key components of your project:

I have the VR set up RJ lent me, as well as some physical effects to alter the users perception of reality when taking the goggles on and off (right now that consists of a fog machine, a dimly lit room, and eventually a weight vest). I have been doing tutorials on Unity, so my next step is to jump right into building out the rooms and seeing how it comes together.

I have ordered an external mic for recording audio, and I am going to look into weight vests as well.

I have talked to/interviewed several people about their experience with depression and intend to include as much of their feedback as I can into the experience without overcrowding it or making it into a stereotype.

Other than the coding aspect, I think the hardest part of this project will be testing out my hypothesis, as VR is an experiential activity and we are all quarantined.

--

--