Looking Outwards 2 — Rick&Morty Meet Virtual Reality

Megan
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2020

This week I found an interesting company named Owlchemy Labs (pronounced alchemy) that specializes in virtual reality gaming experiences. The studio emphasizes the importance of ones hands in a virtual reality environment and builds their worlds out accordingly.

When building one of their most popular environments Job Simulator, the Owlchemy team came into contact with Justin Roiland, co-creator of Rick&Morty. Roiland loved Job Simulator, and after talking with Adult-Swim executives the three groups began collaborating on a new VR simulation game: Rick and Morty: Virtual Rick-ality.

Unfortunately the Owlchemy team didn’t go into many details when discussing the tools they used to create the game, only citing Unity and its many attributes, but they did discuss some of the challenges of creating for a virtual environment at VRDC 2017.

On an unrelated note, I have also been looking up VR animals. I am hoping to do something with dogs and AR for my final, but given my lack of knowledge in this area I was worried about how bad a project like this could end up looking (especially when compared to all the amazing things I have seen in the last few weeks!). I found a couple VR dog simulators on Steam, and I have to say my confidence grew a bit because the bar for dog animation seems to be well bellow Nintendogs.

--

--