Project 2 — Complete Failure

Megan
1 min readMay 2, 2020

--

For my second project in Critical Making (Spring edition) I tried to change the colors of trees in a scene through touch input, but as the title of this post suggests, it didn’t work out.

I was originally going to build off of my previous project (https://medium.com/@mekw7364/project-1-asset-creation-visualization-53bb380dd285), but when I found a color changing script that seemed to work like a wand from Harry Potter, I decided to change things up a bit.

I found a nature scene in the unity asset store (called Nature Starter Kit 2) that makes it look like the user is walking through a forrest and I thought this was the perfect place to try out the color changing script! Unfortunately, no matter how I went about implementing it the script itself would not do what it was supposed to. All of the other scripts tied to the Nature Scene worked perfectly, and I could see the movement and lighting effects perfectly on my iPad, but the touch input color changer did not seem to affect the scene.

Video of the forrest scene:

Link to the script I tried to use:

--

--