A DESIGNER THAT DOESN’T DRAW

You and I were born creative

Yuriy Melnyk

--

Do you draw? Notice, I’m not asking if you “can” draw. If you recall the time when you were little, you’ll see that you used to draw all the time: on paper, pavement, walls (parents, probably, were not excited), furniture, clothes, on everything your little hands could reach. I know I used to, but not anymore. Of course, my parents are sometimes still not very excited about me, but for very different reasons. I’ve stopped drawing because people said I couldn’t and I believed them. For a ten-year-old me the words of a teacher were indisputable. On paper my apples were purple instead of red, dogs had six legs and houses could fly. I thought it was art, my teacher thought it was an F, so I dropped it. The thing is, I have never stopped creating stuff in my head. Anywhere at anytime I am just imagining stuff, making up stories, games and their characters, you probably do that too, right?

Do you even crop?

Now, one more question: “Do you design?”. In case you are really a designer, I honestly want to congratulate you on that, in my mind it’s one of the best jobs ever, I wish you the best of luck and am eager to let you go in peace. But if you’re not, then we have something to talk about. You see, everything in the world is designed by someone. For example, squirrels and clouds are designed by nature, your favourite homemade meatballs are designed by your mom, you iPhone is designed by Jonathan Ive (and probably hundred of other guys, whom Apple doesn’t mention). The point is — everything in the world has been designed by someone and you don’t necessarily need to have a word “Designer” written on your business card in order to be one. That is exactly my case, I consider myself to be a Word Designer, a creator of sentences and stories. I create not with a Wacom tablet, but with a keyboard and sometimes with a pen. I love working with designers though, we’re great together. At my new job I do it on a daily bases, they are my teammates, coworkers and friends. I watch them create cool stuff, see their work from another prospective, notice details and give them my feedback. Afterwards I write down all my observations into a journal and our social media page. By reading about us on social media and watching team’s case studies our clients understand us better. They see the reason why we do our job and how passionate we are about every project. I like to think that my work is partly responsible for signing new clients and receiving new projects. You see, before picking a company to work with, customers like to study the team a little bit, and with my help our design team stands out as a leader.

The painful truth

You’re probably wondering why I am telling you all this. To be honest, we have a problem and I am hoping you can resolve it. The issue is, that I’m not real, I do not exist. The author of this story made me up. But if on some point of reading this text you recognized yourself in it — please, contact me. SoldSouls Design is looking for someone to become a part of their design family, fulfil the missing piece. Did I get you hooked? If “yes” — please stay with me for a little longer.

Almost done, I promise

So you think you’re good with words, you love imagining and creating stuff, you are an awesome person overall, but somehow unemployed or maybe just not completely satisfied with your current job (which would never happened at SoldSouls, by the way)? In that case we will accept you with our arms open wide. Not like any other regular IT company that trades all your energy for money, we offer: great team; regular monthly paycheck, which would receive a billion likes on Instagram; medical care; gyms; corporate parties cooler than Kanye West’s birthdays; certification center and language school; play-zones with XBox and WII and lots of other superb stuff. All we want in exchange is your passion and creativity. Oh, and a few other tiny favours, for example: pre-sale support; case studies and project diaries; content creation; SMM; blogging; event reports and other things so small, that I can’t even remember them right now.

Are you up for the job? Yeah, I knew that. Drop me a line, hope you’ll take my place soon.

--

--