Diary of a migration: from PC to Mac. Day 2, googling

Mavroudis
3 min readJul 27, 2022

--

From day 1 to day 2.

New day, new toy. Let’s go! I lift the lid and voila, mac starts. No unnecessary buttons. Cool! About 10 seconds until finishing booting. Fair enough.

The screen is super clean and bright, no more wiring extra displays when editing photos.

Opening safari (the browser). Just a minute, where the sync to chrome bookmarks is hidden? Googling: nowhere! There is a boring workaround. Downloading chrome instead. Sorry Apple.

Installing chrome. Why on earth should I drag an icon to another one to install an app? And why on earth should I start the app to finish installation? I shall acquire new habits but, to be honest, I don’t like them: they seem stupid.

Mastering trackpad. It has a superb feeling but it’s different to what I was using until now. I am not used to press hard trackpad to click. I prefer tapping. Solution: settings->trackpad->point & click tab-> enable tap to click.

Pressing the trackpad to achieve dragging is not comfortable to me. Googling: go to settings->accessibility->pointer control->trackpad options->tick enable dragging with 3 fingers drag. Way better now. But now other navigation gestures change: use 4 finger for swiping instead of the default 3. No problem.

Useful add ons. After installing a few apps the menu seems a little overcrowded with unnecessary icons. Googling: there are many paid and free solutions. I chose vanilla, because it’s free for its basic functionality and it does the job.

In windows, Ctl+v was a useful shortkey to access the clipboard. What can I do in macOS? Googling: a new app is needed. I chose Copyclick available in App store. Task considered done.

The connection of a windows PC to a mobile phone is quite straightforward. But in mac? Googling: an app, called android file tranfer is needed which opens a new window, different from the default finder’s window. Access to phone’s files is possible only through that third-party app’s window. I don’t like it.

Macs are virus-free… NOT. I am not illegal but also I am not an angel. Sometimes I use torrents. Googling: Installed Folx. A few minutes later, I have downloaded my first app through torrent. I install it and an annoying persisting message pops up when chrome is open, informing me that I should confirm an unknown action with my password. Googling. It’s malware. Chrome is infected. I install Malwarebutes, trial edition, to get rid of it. Conclusion: There are viruses for Macs.

End of day 2: It was a beautiful day. Mac’s speed was fascinating. Screen’s clarity and brightness helps you to forget its small size and sucks you in a world of color and crispiness. Concerning battery, it seems that M1 does not consume electricity. Apple has probably discovered the solution to planet’s energy crisis. After 6 hours of playing around, it has 45% of juice. To sum up, I have installed my everyday apps and I got a little familiar with macOS. Hardware is overwhelming but mastering macOS demans googling. Enough for today.

P.S. “googling” is just a phrase. Feel free to read “duckduckgoing” instead, or what your beloved search machine is.

Read here for my impressions after a week’s use.

--

--