Dreaming Big with Barbie

My Trip Down Memory Lane

Melinda Van Fleet
2 min readFeb 20, 2020
Photo by author of niece Sydney’s Barbies.

Some of the best memories I have as a kid is when I would play with Barbie dolls. I played for hours and hours. I played with my sister, with friends and I happily played by myself.

I recently watched my 2 amazing nieces while my sister and her husband took a vacation. My younger niece Sydney is 11 and plays with her Barbies so we played together.

Yep, I am 48 years old, but had a great time playing with my niece.

What was amazing to me is all the different varieties of Barbie nowadays. There’s a Yoga Barbie, a Barbie with a prosthetic leg, a variety of skin tones and ethnicities, wheel chair Barbie, fuller figure Barbies (normal figure in my opinion) and lots of younger versions called Chelsea’s. I am sure I forgot many other options that are available but I think you get the drift. I was very impressed with how this brand has evolved.

What I remember most though about playing with Barbie was day dreaming.

And dreaming big! Barbie had a life of abundance. She was fun, likable and successful. She didn’t have a care in the world.

And I didn’t pay attention to her body size. It meant nothing to me until it was called out by adults. My brain was just having fun and allowing anything I imagined to happen.

--

--

Melinda Van Fleet

Intuitive energetic empowerment life & business mentor/coach, who believes in magic, taking action consistently and that contrarians can change the world.