How Kindle change my life with Dyslexia

Melissa Fagundes
3 min readJan 17, 2016

--

Vince Low

I am dyslexic and, for me, the best invention of mankind was the ebook/e-reader. Because of this disorder, I have books that I can’t read, because of the space between lines and the font size. This sucks. A lot. Who is a dyslexic and enjoys reading know what I’m talking about.

I bought my first Kindle from Amazon in 2010. The model was the third generation, with keyboard, WIFI, basic model. Until then, I tried to read on the computer, but the reading was not really comfortable.

Third generation

In early 2015, specifically January (because Amazon remind us when we search for Kindles in), I bought the latest version, now with touch screen and Wifi in the cheaper version.

Before buying, I looked in the described benefits of Kindle and found the following set of items really appealing:

  • Touch screen;
  • Battery lasts for weeks. Believe me, i am a hard user.
  • Crispy text. The Kindle uses particles of real paints and supplies handmade. Lovely.
  • Does not tire the eyes. I spent hours reading without tiring me, the same cannot be said about reading on the computer / tablet.
  • Lighter than a book and literally you can carry your library everywhere. This is very valuable.
  • No distractions. Just to read it.
  • Dictionary. And now also search terms on Wikipedia.

All these advantages are wonderful, but the one that makes a huge difference in the life of a dyslexic who likes / try to read is the feature to custom the types and sizes of fonts!

Kindle has eight adjustable font sizes according to your reading preference. You can easily increase your favorite book’s text size. Also, it has three font styles designed by hand to choose from, all optimized to provide the best reading experience

This is when the magic happens!

About being able to change the spacing makes a hell of a difference for those who have the disorder. Usually, people with dyslexia have a reading and writing with income lower than expected for age and education.

I didn’t get a single penny to make this text (and shouldn’t, I think). But I believe that, a lot of people with the same disorder, does not know how Kindle can enhance your reading experience.

After getting Kindle, I was able to take reading challenges like the ones being related by Gabriel Vinholi. Or, follow the tips of Rogério Pereira . To publishers, is a hint: think about us, dyslexics, before launching a book.

For Amazon, I have I said love you today how much i love you?

--

--

Melissa Fagundes

A garota que mora em mim. Disléxica, skatista, ama ficção científica, Asimov, Star Wars, viagens, inovação. Percebeu que desenhar e escrever são como respirar.