Book Pet Peeves

Melissa Muth
6 min readMar 25, 2019

This is just a list of my personal pet peeves that I see written in books.

Image From Pixabay

Just to keep everything clean and concise I will be splitting my pet peeves in their own distinct categories: Physical Pet Peeves (in regards to the books physical design) and Story Pet Peeves (in regards of characters, plot, themes, and so forth).

Physical Pet Peeves:

  1. When writers suddenly change the format of their book half way through the book series. I am mainly highlighting the books that may start with the protagonist’s point of view but then in later books the viewpoints suddenly change from person to person. This can often result in chapter titles being named after the character’s perspective. That’s fine if you declared from the start that this will be the format, but for a book series that suddenly changed half way through, is very halting. A shining example I can think of is the Marked series by P.C. Cast…those who know the book series will also note how the author changed their narrative format throughout the book series.
  2. Writers who only release their novels as a hard cover vs. a soft cover. For financial reasons, I do prefer soft covers. And for my bookshelf’s sake, I do…

--

--