Cookie Cutter

Melissa Pao
3 min readNov 5, 2019

--

In order to convey ideas and adequately prototype in the 3D space, learning how to 3D print is a skill that would be valuable. I was extremely excited for this project, as 3D printers were always been a tool that I wanted to use and explore. Through this assignment, we were required to use the tools of extrusion, revolution and boolean. To do this, I created two concentric shapes that were joined together, all while being open on one side.

During each holiday, my family and I would always make themed holiday-shaped cookies. I thought of making a heart-shaped cookie cutter to bring home to my family this Thanksgiving!

My little sister also loves when there is a little glob of filling in the center of the cookie. Therefore, I sketched out a indentation at the center of the cookie so that we can fill it with any jam, chocolate or filling of our choice. Delicious! I also studied what size and dimension would be suitable for a hand held object such as a cookie cutter. Usually the dimensions are about 3"-5" for something to be comfortably used.

The final product was a wide, flat surface that would serve as the main surface in which the user would apply pressure. Next, is a bar that spreads across horizontally, a structure that supports the middle concentric heart shape that would press into the cookie. On the outside, is the outline that would cut the cookie from the dough. Below, is the 3D printer getting started on the cooke cutter! You can see the filling slowly outline a heart shape.

Below is the final product! The smooth, flat surfaces provide for a perfect finish to cut cookies. This process was super interesting to watch. I actually ended up purchasing an entire stock of filament so that I can come back in the future to printer some household objects.

I loved this project. I am planning on modeling a set of miniature utensils for my little sister as well! I also hope to better master the software, Rhino. I would also love to create some art sculptures and such. I have never been able work much in the physical space, and I can do so much with 3D printing in terms of modeling and prototyping. Excited to learn more!

--

--

Melissa Pao

Curious and empathetic designer from Bay Area, California.