40 things I don’t regret-Count down to turning 40, Day 3

Melissa Renae
3 min readNov 12, 2022

My day 3 non-regret is my big family. They are a huge part of who I have become in these 40 years. Of course, we have our issues like any other family, but the love here is undeniable. Both sides are grounded in deep faith, (more on that later). My dad’s side, the Bryants and Haynes, hails from Charleston, SC. The very early part of my years was spent there. I was there when hurricane Hugo hit. We regrettably, (I know, I know wrong list), aren’t as close to his side. There are many reasons for this but the main being that we moved away from Charleston when I was really young. My grandfather was a minister. He passed away before I was born. My grandmother (Granny) was a homemaker. She is beautifully still with us and turned 90yrs old this year. I need to do better about reconnecting with this side.

My mom’s side is from the Bahamas the Mallorys and Thompsons. We still have family on the islands of Freeport and Nassau. Maybe other islands too but I don’t know for sure. My maternal grandparents are also missionaries and we are blessed to still have both of them with us. My brother and I grew up more with this side of the family. The Mallorys are a formidable bunch. My mother is the oldest of 8, making me the oldest grandchild of I think 28 or 29… I lost count after a while. Now we have great-grands joining the bunch, my son being the oldest of those. Our group is very close and can be intimidating to newcomers, but we love and embrace everyone who genuinely wants to join in the fun.

It’s cool being the oldest. In age, we range from 12–39. Sometimes I do feel far removed from them and maybe even relate more to my aunts and uncles, but my cousins take care of me and keep me fresh. They have been there for me when I was at my lowest. When all I could barely do was survive, they helped carry me. They sat with me, exercised with me, or made me get dressed and go out. When Royce was younger, the girls would snuggle him and make sure he was clean and fed. Now they help him with his homework or play games with him, still stealing kisses and snuggles. The boys always take him under their wing when they are around. They toss him around and play video games with him. These two tasks may be the biggest blessing because whew, thank you, boys!!! The other day the boys taught me what “cap” means, now I can better translate the videos Royce watches on youtube. I’m late posting this, because I’m still taking care of them! My babies are teachers, soldiers, pharmacists, musicians, dancers, artists, veterinarians, and personal trainers. Some are working on becoming dentists, lawyers, pilots, and the list goes on. I’m sure I’m missing some, which just means it's time for me to check in. Nonetheless, I am so proud of each and every one of them.

One thing I know, on either side I will always have someone praying for my and Royce’s well-being. I also know that even if times get really tough, we would never ever be out on the street fending for ourselves. Both mean more than the world to me.

--

--

Melissa Renae

Hi, I’m Melissa. I have over 16 yrs experience in the field of nutrition and dietetics. I’m here to be your credible source for nutrition information.