The Pros and Cons of Living in Seattle

What Living in Seattle Was Like as a Californian

Melody
7 min readSep 22, 2020
Photo by Ben Dutton on Unsplash

I lived in Seattle for a total of 3 years. During that time, there were some things I loved about living there, and some things I didn’t love so much.

I recently moved out of Seattle and back to California, where I grew up. Before I made the decision to move back, I put together a list of pros and cons about living in Seattle. It helped me out with my decision and I wanted to share it with you too, in case you’re thinking of moving to Seattle.

Here are some things to keep in mind before you make the big decision.

The Pros

1. Beautiful & Clean

The summers in Seattle are amazing! The summer season in Seattle starts from early July and lasts until mid September. It’s usually in the mid 70’s and sunny. I’ve never experienced the temperature being above the lower 90's.

Since it rains a lot, it’s always green and the air feels fresh and clean. Seattle has a ton of trees, which makes the Fall season extra special when you see the changing colors of the leaves. It doesn’t ever smell bad outside, unless you walk past a garbage can.

There’s also lots of outdoor activities to do like hiking, going to parks, water…

--

--

Melody

UX Writer—loves cats, video games, and In-n-Out Burger