My Tongue, My Shield

Mem
2 min readDec 26, 2019

--

Exposing the very thing that makes me uncomfortable

Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

Growing up, as stated before, I have a tongue-tie. Coupled with rapid speech ala Rory Gilmore, it rendered me incomprehensible. I’m still hard to understand today.

But because of the tongue-tie, people open up to me and think I’m sincere — I am, but this is different. The sincerity comes from the fact that I have something I struggled with my entire life.

Unlike other ailments, like Chron’s Disease, I could not hide. I mean, I did hide by choosing not to talk for so many years. But they knew something was up with how I talked.

But it was sometimes so sweet and welcomed though:

“Oh, you’re a foreigner, you speak Arabic so cutely!”

(أوه ، أنت أجنبي ، أنت تتحدث العربية بلطف)

“Oh, look at you trying to pronounce that word, it makes me appreciative of you trying my language.”

( Oh, regardez-vous essayer de prononcer ce mot, ça me fait plaisir que vous essayiez ma langue.)

And then a discussion happens. They appreciate the fact that I was so willing to try and not hide behind the impediment. Most people would cower in fear instead of trying to communicate.

I cowered in fear for years, I will not stop trying to communicate.

I’m making up for the lost time.

It’s okay, this is my weakness, but it became my strength.

--

--

Mem

An American of Asian descent who grew up in Europe. I'm a little person in a big world with my best friend, a dog named Miel.