I Still Chew My Food 32 Times

A tribute to my grandfather.

Memories of Korea
2 min readJul 23, 2022
Image by Memories of Korea

I was a very anxious, impatient, and introverted child. My sole distinction is that I am no longer a child.

One fine evening, my grandpa sat next to me while I shoved down the food frantically for reasons I do not remember.

He rested his wrinkled, slightly shivering hand on my head.

That touch remains warm in the ruins of my heart.

I smiled at him, and he returned me a child-like smile with a question.

How many teeth does a human have?

I responded quickly, “32 teeth, of course!”. Pleased with how intelligent I sounded.

In that case, don’t you think it is only logical to chew your food 32 times? To make sure each of your teeth functions well?

I believe his voice is now absorbed in the morning sunlight that he adored the most.

Dumbfounded, I could only nod my head in agreement. I forgot I was talking to a man who attended night school while doing child labor during the day.

Because he believed education will set us free. He wanted to give us wings, to study and live in the countries he only read in history…

--

--