This 30-Second Habit Cured My Depression

Suvan Goel
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJan 21, 2024

--

Photo by Ryan Hutton on Unsplash

My self-improvement journey began 2 years ago.

And since then, I’ve come a long way.

But until that point, I was a pitiful sight.

Productive habits weren’t in my vocabulary. Most of my time was wasted away in front of the computer screen, and trust me, I wasn’t working.

Video games and hours of mindless social media consumption were what dominated my waking hours.

I did hardly any physical activity and you could tell by looking at me.

Needless to say, nobody was placing any bets on my bright future.

And my mental health? Arguably in a worse state than my exterior.

Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

But I thought that poor mental health was simply a feature of my miserable existence.

It never occurred to me that my destructive mindset was the reason that my life wasn’t going how I hoped.

See, I managed to convince myself that I had no control over my life. I managed to convince myself that how I turned out was because of something I couldn’t change. Often that was genetics.

--

--

Suvan Goel
ILLUMINATION

I'm passionate about health as well as men's self improvement! You can read all my articles for free on my website: https://mensadvancement.com/