How To Make A New City Feel Like Home

Mer Ruiz
3 min readJun 13, 2023
Photo by ben o'bro on Unsplash

Picture this. You just graduated and are offered a dream job in a big city. You take the plunge and move hours away from home. This is where I was not long ago. I’ve lived in the greater Philly area, far from my southern hometown, and I have learned many ways to get acquainted with a new home. Here are some tips from my experience to help you adjust to your new life in a new place.

Pick up a new hobby

The best way to kill free time and ward off loneliness is to start doing something that brings you joy. It can be a single or group activity. For me, I picked up roller skating. I can do this activity on my own or with others. That is one of the reasons why I love it. Bonus points if your new hobby is active.

Go to events in town

Are you a fan of Punk Rock? How about Comedy? Find a punk rock concert near you. Go to a local comedy show. Attending local events is a great way to escape your comfort zone. It also increases your chances of meeting people with similar interests. One event that I went to was my city’s Pride. If you are an ally or a part of the LGBTQ+ community, it is a great place to meet like-minded people. I met a snake that was trans!

Explore your new city

There is so much to explore in the new place. It is time to find your favorites. Try…

--

--

Mer Ruiz

Hi! I'm Mer. I write about self-improvement and wellness. Follow along for daily articles!