Meranda
7 min readJun 7, 2020

--

Bible Lessons from Animal Crossing

Well, it’s no secret that I’ve been playing entirely too much Animal Crossing. I only gushed about it in my last post and have lost no fervor since then. While going to a friend’s island to frantically sell my 400,000 bells worth of turnips, she suggested for me to write something about the lessons that we can learn from this life simulator. I agreed and let my brain go to work.

1) Go outside each day.

This one is super ironic, I know! In the game, you spend most of your time, running around outside, catching bugs, fishing, digging up fossils, collecting shells, decorating, and socializing with the animal villagers. In fact, there is more to do outside than inside your house in the game.

Likewise, spending time outside is beneficial for us all around. For example, sunshine gives us the vitamin D that our bodies need. The fresh air improves our mental and emotional health. Exercising, even just walking, is so good for our bodies in every way — physically, emotionally, and mentally.

A few days ago, I enjoyed just sitting in the yard with my dog. It was only for about 20 minutes. I was not doing anything other than feeling the itchy earth against my legs. There was a slight breeze with birds chirping to the hum of traffic. It was warm, but not too sunny, and Kovu was ever so content to keep munching away on a sizable stick he found on our walk. There was a sense of peace.

It was a good reminder to be present in the moment, not to worry about my phone or what was going on with it, and to praise the Creator of the Universe. I think of this verse:

“The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.” ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭19:1‬ ‭ESV‬‬.

God is in nature. You can see what God has done and experience God. One way to be reminded of God’s attributes is to spend time in God’s creation.

2) Be kind to your villagers (I mean, neighbors)

In Animal Crossing New Horizons, one can have up to 10 villagers on one’s island. They have different personalities with unique dialogue. Some of them are quite adorable like Goldie and Diana, who are always positive and charming. Others are intentionally degrading and wearing. The player can interact with them positively by talking to them and giving gifts or can interact negatively by giving them garbage, using the butterfly net on them, or just plain ignoring them altogether.

Just like in real life, we can be kind or not to our villagers or neighbors. It was no surprise that the Pharisees, the political and religious leaders of the Israelites, were not big supporters of Jesus. On many occasions, they tried to trap him by asking purposely misleading questions. Questions that had no right answers. They did this to undermine his authority and to coerce him into breaking one of the many rules. In one such instance, a lawyer asked Jesus which rule was the most important, and Jesus replied that it is to love God with all one’s heart, soul, and mind. Then, Jesus adds, “And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” Matthew‬ ‭22:39‬ ‭ESV‬‬. Also, Jesus had previously said, “But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,” Matthew‬ ‭5:44‬ ‭ESV‬‬

These verses do not say to only love the people that are kind to us. It is so easy to be kind to the Goldies and to the Dianas of the world, but we are to love all of those around us even if they don’t deserve it. I’d also like to add that we are to love as we love ourselves. Think of the quote: “I love me some me.” I could not find who to attribute it to because Google shows many athletes, singers, and authors have used it before. Anyway, that’s the love we are to show the people around us, even the people who do not return the kindness. We are to love them as selfishly as we tend to love ourselves and pray for them as well.

3) Make time for your friends

I’ll admit, this one is similar to the last, but I think it is worthy of its own header. Friends, especially now in this time of isolation, are so vital for our own health and spiritual growth.

While in middle school, I had Animal Crossing Wild World for the DS. I played it all the time and grew very attached to this one particular villager. When they moved out, I cried to my mom. It’s a silly story, I know, and I can’t even remember who the villager was. That has little to do with my point. I just wanted to take a small, amusing aside for your own entertainment.

Anyway, of the approximate 400 villagers available in ACNH, people flock to a certain few. There’s even a “black market” of villager trading. The most popular two are Raymond, a glasses wearing office cat, and Marshal, a pastel yellow squirrel. They are both kind and friendly with Raymond referring to the player as “Crisp”. Seriously, how cute is that?

Be friendly and welcoming. Be a Raymond or Marshal, taking time and maybe even making strenuous effort to check on and spend time with the people you care about. Community is vital in the game and in real life. Community is essential to the Christian in the forms of small groups, large church gatherings to worship through music and for teaching, sharing with a spouse, and confiding in a friend.

“Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.” Proverbs‬ ‭27:17‬ ‭ESV‬‬.

When I am engaged in sharing what I’m learning, being honest with my struggles with others, listening to the trials of friends, or just being there even for the silly stuff, I find myself closer to my friends and to King Jesus, who gave me those friends to begin with.

4) Life is what you make of it.

Animal Crossing is a very open game. In that, there are no objectives past the tutorial. One can complete the museum by donating every bug, fish, fossil, and artwork. One can have a 5 Star island, decorated just so with everything exactly in its place. One can search and obtain their cutest or favorite villagers. One can have max friendship with all of the villagers or crossbreed every color of flower. One can even catalog every item in every color or turn their island into one big story or theme.

For us, we have thousands and thousands — even millions — more options than that for our lives. Things do not always go according to plan. Check that, things almost never go according to our plans. If you would have asked younger Meranda what she wanted her life to look like in 2020, it would not be very close to how it actually turned out. It would not be a spot the difference. It would be two different pictures altogether, and that’s okay.

God has a plan for my life, and I can follow it or not. God has been teaching me that discovering the plan is a privilege and an adventure. Life can be scary and uncertain, and that’s okay too.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.” Psalm‬ ‭32:8‬ ‭ESV‬‬.

It is super cool to know that God not only watches over us, but also guides and teaches us along the way. God is not a passive onlooker. Instead, we are given the Spirit of God to lead, convict, and to intercede on our very behalf.

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.” Ecclesiastes‬ ‭3:11‬ ‭ESV‬‬.

Things will eventually come together into the masterpiece that God already says you are. They will eventually fit and tumble together into a picture that is likely entirely unexpected. Life will never be perfect, and we won’t ever be either. Events will happen that are unexplainable and seemingly uncalled for, and we might not understand why or how during our time on the earth. However, take comfort in knowing that God is in control and has a beautiful plan for you!

Thanks to my friend who suggested I write this. I was a little stumped to begin with, but as I started to put pen to paper, the words just appeared. Also, I will take any excuse to show off pictures of my adorable villagers.

Respond:

  1. How often do you take time to truly enjoy nature — just being outside? Take a few minutes today to go outside without the phone and go through what each of your senses is experiencing.
  2. 2. Are there any “villagers” you need to ask for forgiveness or any smoothing over that needs to be done? Begin that process.
  3. 3. Make a list of your closest friends. How often do you pray for them? How often do you reach out to them? After you write the list, take the time to pray for each one by name and reach out if it’s been a while.
  4. 4. How have you seen God’s presence in the past? How do you need his guidance right now or in the future?

PS: If you have the black and white lighthouse, let me know! I’d love to trade you.

--

--