10 Questions with Gabe Haydu, EdTech Teacher, Maker, Innovator

MERGE
7 min readNov 5, 2018
Mr. Gabe Haydu, Teacher at Singapore American School

1)How did you get interested in AR, VR, and 3D printing?

As a classroom teacher, I’m always searching for new ways to spark interest and inspire creativity in my classroom community, so I’m constantly looking at every new advancement in technology through the lens of education. Can this benefit my students in some way? About five years ago, I bought a brand new comic book that featured digitally integrated artwork accessible through the app Marvel AR (since discontinued). In case you were wondering, the comic was Infinity #1, and it’s still a great read! I was particularly fascinated by the app’s ability to scan the physical pages and “bring them to life” on my phone’s screen in augmented reality. This experience launched me into the world of AR, but it wasn’t until 2015 that I began to unlock the creative potential of AR in the classroom. I had a futuristic goal of using an AR app called Aurasma (now HP Reveal) to digitize the student work which hung all over the walls (Coincidentally, the Marvel AR app utilized Aurasma’s software as a platform for their AR experiences). I was teaching 2nd grade at the time, and, with practice, my students were able to create some very rich digital content and overlay it onto their physical projects. This was the year before Pokémon Go took the world by storm an became the first mainstream AR experience available to the masses. Since then, a multitude of AR apps have been developed, and continue to emerge each month. Most have been aimed at the entertainment industry, but companies like MERGE VR are beginning to realize that AR has a place in education. MERGE Cubes are making their way into classrooms around the world and teachers are finding some powerful ways to harness their potential. One of the most exciting developments I’ve come across lately is the ability to utilize the app Object Viewer and the online 3D design tool TinkerCAD to help students produce high-quality 3D printing projects. It’s an exciting time for teachers who are willing to step into the unknown and try something new!

2) Give an example of a typical day using these technologies. (i.e. what lesson are you typically teaching with these tools?) Take us through the steps the students go through.

While technology certainly plays a daily role in my classroom, AR, VR, and 3D printing aren’t always applicable to the concepts we are exploring. I am careful to only incorporate this type of tech when it has potential to be helpful, relevant, and enriching to my students’ learning. That being said, I’m always the one most eager to dive in with these lessons!

After I get my class signed up for their own TinkerCAD accounts, I require them to go through the beginner lessons found on TinkerCAD’s website. These lessons really help my students get the hang of how to use CAD software and builds their spatial awareness in the world of 3D modeling. After picking up the basics, students are able to begin designing their own creations. For most of my students, the end goal is to design something worth 3D printing. In order to make it that far, they must design with TinkerCAD, analyze in AR with the MERGE Cube, and refine or revise if necessary. Once approved, I train them on how to properly use the 3D printer.

3) How do the students react to these kinds of lessons?

They’re all so engaged and invested! I give students plenty of time to get to know the tech before assigning anything rigorous. When the time comes to assign anything related to 3D printing, I explain how high my expectations are, and some students are a bit put off.

However, since it’s so fun and rewarding, students don’t mind the high expectations. It’s certainly not for everyone, and I make it clear from the start that I’m ok with them choosing another type of project. However, the ones who stick with it tend to dive deeper and really exercise their creativity and problem-solving skills in a focused way. They’re also the students who seem to feel a greater sense of accomplishment at the end of a big project.

4) How do these projects prepare them for higher learning or the real world?

It’s no secret that the world we live in is increasingly digital, and as such our students will need to be well versed in the latest and greatest technology. AR & VR are important tools that lend themselves to a variety of applications, including 3D printing. I help coach our elementary and middle school First Lego League robotics teams, and the theme of the competition this year is about long-term space travel. Through their research, teams are finding that 3D printing could be a very realistic process to help unlock new possibilities or solve unique problems while in space. Last year, the theme was related to water conservation and one team actually 3D printed multiple iterations of their water-saving shower head prototype.

5) How do STEM projects help extend the student voice?

While many of my students are happy designing a nameplate, luggage tag, or some other trinket, each year I have a few students who spend hours creating some next-level STEM projects. Last year, one of my girls designed and printed a modular model of a robot, and another created a fully-articulating puzzle box. One of my boys made up his own board game and 3D printed the board and game pieces throughout the course of the school year. STEM projects help empower students to visualize, design, and create the impossible. When their ideas are published they become part of the real world, giving students an opportunity to participate in the global community and share what they have to offer.

6) How do you grade these activities? (or is it a reward activity?)

Some projects are graded assignments, others are voluntary projects. When it’s a graded assignment, like some of my math lessons with the MERGE Cube, I have my students screenshot or screen record an explanation of their thinking. Marked-up and voiced-over files can be shared through Seesaw or Flipgrid. The best part about sharing this way is that students can learn from each other and parents can instantly see their child’s thinking.

7) How does the MERGE Cube and TinderCAD integration work in your classroom?

The creations you’ve designed on TinkerCAD are easily uploaded to the MERGE Cube in the form of an .stl file. Once you’ve downloaded the file and uploaded it to your Miniverse, all it takes is opening the Object Viewer app on your phone or tablet. Having the ability to see their creations up close and in augmented reality has made my students conscientious designers. One misplaced component or flaw in the design could spell expensive mess during the 3D printing process.

8) Your students have access to a few 3D printers in your classroom. How would a teacher tailor this lesson if she/he only has one 3D printer?

While my students are quite spoiled when it comes to access to technology, we definitely don’t have 1:1 3D printer access. This is why having a well-conceptualized 3D model is so important, as to not waste materials or take time away from others. AR models are a vital component to the modeling process. Not all of my students last year would call my system for choosing who’s up next on the 3D printer “fair”, but it certainly rewarded the ones who were willing to put in the extra time and effort. Individuals who chose to use time outside of school to work on their TinkerCAD designs or come in early/stay late to ensure their creation was set to turn out perfectly were always rewarded with an automatic front of the line pass. It just so happens that they were also the type of students who would forgo their “fast pass” privileges just to help teach another child who was still learning the ropes and in need of guidance.

A 3D creation displayed on the MERGE Cube before printing

9) How does augmented reality fit into the 3D printing creation process?

AR allows students to actually visualize their projects before they’re printed. One of the greatest benefits of this technology combo is being able to be proactive in anticipating potential issues and troubleshoot before expensive materials are consumed. I train the students to download any 3D design they are interested in printing as an .stl file and upload it into our shared Miniverse.io account. From there, students can use the Object Viewer app on their phone or tablet to examine their proposed print job in AR. If they’ve had it peer-reviewed and everything checks out, I’ll approve them for 3D printing. Since implementing the AR analysis as a required step, we’ve saved tons of filament!

10) How do you think the 3D nature of augmented reality impacts the learning process/student engagement?

AR opens up a whole new universe of possibilities for students and teachers. It’s exciting and engaging! AR brings ideas and concepts to life digitally without removing you from reality. Even though I’ve been utilizing AR in the classroom for multiple years now, the magic hasn’t worn off. The power of digitally augmenting the world around us still feels like a sci-fi dream to me, and has so many potential uses! As I said before, I’m not one to dive into new classroom tech just for the sake of it. I’ve got to be sure of the usefulness before introducing it to my students. AR has proven to be a versatile, thought-provoking, and all-around inspiring tool for my classroom.

--

--

MERGE

Making virtual and augmented reality fun and easy for everyone