A Trip to The Getty Center

MermaidStella
2 min read1 day ago

--

I am visiting a friend in Los Angeles.

After viewing the photos we took, I realized the reason why I love photography.

Photography is a mix of possession and creativity.

I am claiming my artwork with the hours put into the selection of the location, the talent for “having an eye,” the hours in the post-editing process and also the hours spent at the gym to “look better in photos.”

For this one photo, it’s the work that was put into get there that creates meaning and adds value.

I worked hard to earn my PTO, flew across the country, worked hours at the gym, spent energy to arrive at the location and carry the equipment in the sun and heat.

For one photo of an editorial, there are at least a dozen people who plan everything from location, model, hair, makeup and then the marketing strategy.

“Advertising is the business of creativity” — David Ogilvy.

Up in the clouds

The next time you see a nice “photo,” just know that somewhere, someone put in hours of work to produce the nice image.

For my last semester, I am taking a course on Law of Mass Communication. Copyrights are such an important issue for this exact reason.

For you, it might be a “picture” floating around the internet.

If you understood the amount of effort and hours that were put into producing this art, you would understand the importance of giving someone due credit.

Cheers to creativity.

Here’s a toast to all artists out there.

--

--