Creating a YouTube Channel on Autopilot: Update from 100 Days Later

Merrick Hare
3 min readMar 6, 2023

--

I created a python bot to automatically create YouTube video shorts. 100 days later and the channel is gaining subscribers.

Photo by Rachit Tank on Unsplash

The Channel and Project

YouTube — Boots The Cat automated channel

Github — Merrick Hare Auto Video Short

Automated YouTube Shorts Video Bot | by Merrick Hare | Jan, 2023 | Medium

Why automate a YouTube channel?

Imagine having a fully automated YouTube channel that consistently produces engaging videos without any manual editing. 100 days ago, I asked myself why I should automate my channel, questioning whether it would lose the personal touch that other channels have. However, after careful consideration, I realized that automating my channel could save time and resources, while still allowing me to maintain quality content. I was inspired by a YouTube video to try it out for myself and used Python and AWS Polly to automate the creation of my YouTube Shorts. Now, 100 days later, my channel has grown to 208 subscribers and receives 40k views every 28 days.

The Numbers

Although the channel hasn’t gained a massive number of viewers and subscribers, it has still managed to generate interest since its inception. The videos consistently receive between 800–2.6k views per week, which is a promising sign for the channel’s growth. Additionally, the number of subscribers over the past 28 days has remained consistent, indicating that the channel is retaining its audience well.

Video Channel Analytics Screenshot from Youtube Studio
Screenshot from the YouTube Studio
Screenshot of a single video’s views ,5k ,and subscribers from video, 15.
Analytics from one of the most popular videos on the channel
Screenshot of 6 videos and views

Automated YouTube Shorts Video Bot | by Merrick Hare | Jan, 2023 | Medium

What’s Next?

At this point, I feel that I have done as much as I want to with this channel. It’s currently running on autopilot and slowly gaining traction, and I’m excited to see where it goes. Once it reaches the coveted 1000 subscribers and 4000 public watch hours required for monetization review, I’ll post another update. Although I had no expectations for this channel, I’ve been able to learn a lot about Python and the tools involved, which has been the best part of this project for me. Additionally, I’ve been able to apply various solutions I’ve developed for this channel to other projects. Looking ahead, I’ve started creating an AI storytelling channel where the community can contribute to the prompts and we’ll generate a new video each week. Although I haven’t posted any videos for this new channel yet, you can subscribe now to be notified when it officially launches. In April 2023, the first poll will be held to create the first generated story, so make sure to participate!

AI Generated Stories— Subscribe now!

Thank You!

Thanks for taking the time to read this article. If you enjoyed the content and would like to see more, please consider following me for future updates. You can also find me on LinkedIn to stay connected and up-to-date on my latest projects.

--

--

Merrick Hare

Learning development and cloud technologies. I hope to share my journey and have others join me on this quest to build interesting and useful applications.