Sofia Santos - OSINT Exercise #027

Mert
2 min readMay 30, 2024

--

The original challenge can be found here.

Tasks:

  1. Name the speaker
  2. Identify what he was wearing on his lapel
  3. Find footage of his speech

Source

Main source image of the challenge

First task: Name the speaker

There is no need to do an image reverse search right away. The name of the event is pretty obvious. I wrote the name of the program and added “program” at the end to see if I could get any brochures about the timeline of the event and this popped up.

You can find a PDF file with detailed information on the event with that link.

According to the information on page 54 of that document, the speaker is Juan Carlos Ruiz Rodríguez, Director of OEI Perú. The very light blue tie is pretty recognizable. Also, I checked several other pictures where speakers stand right next to each other and nobody else is wearing such a light tie, so I thought that’s our guy.

Second task: Identify what he was wearing on his lapel

I cut the below picture from the brochure I mentioned above. I can see the OEI pin but the other ribbon is unknown to me at this point.

After doing some search on various websites, I found another picture here where the ribbon is more visible.

Doing an image reverse search on this cropped image showed me something called “Escarapela peru metal”.

He wears two things on his lapel.

  1. OEI’s pin
  2. Escarapela peru metal

Third task: Find footage of his speech

Searching his name and the name of the event leads you to this YouTube video. He starts speaking around 9:30.

--

--

Mert

CTI newbie, OSINT enthusiast. Trying to learn more.