One tool to rule them all | awsx

Mert Öngengil
2 min readApr 3, 2020

--

If you need a powerful tool for switching AWS(Amazon Web Services) credentials, you will read this story and use my tool. Firstly, I’m a Cloud Native Engineer at bestcloudfor.me and we have many clients are using AWS commonly. I had trouble with switching AWS credentials on my terminal. It was so uncomfortable way like the command below

Did you think you have to do these steps all the time? What a shame?

I was using kubectx for switching cluster configs and thanks for Ahmet Alp Balkan for kubectx. I was thinking on my issue and I inspired by kubectx . But I hadn’t clear config like kubectl and I was searching a workaround solution. I created a directory as .aws.configs in home directory and I put all configs like the command below

I store credentials, current credential’s value on that directory and this directory fully-managed by tool.

You can get awsx from here.

May the force be with you !

--

--