BossVick
2 min readMay 11, 2021

Hainanese Chicken and Rice with Ginger Sauce and Hoisin Sauce

#HainaneseChicken #TatakBossVick #BossVickSmokers #JoyAtHome #CookingChallenge #HoursInTheMaking #MinutesToConsume #HomeCookedMeals

A little back story:

So our daily routine before going to bed is watching youtube cooking videos (yes i know, we torture ourselves, sometimes we give in and eat midnight snacks and sometimes we just sleep it off).

Just last week we came across a string of hainanese chicken videos and we found ourselves drooling. Joy said, "I wish we could make that at home but the prep is alot of work." Trust me she knows her stuff, she churns out hundreds of beautiful dish over the years. (Check out her instagram here: https://instagram.com/joyathomeph) Anyway, back to our conversation, me being me and not wanting to back down (#TatakBossVick), out of nowhere i said "I can do it, i will give you the full hainanese experience." Oh what did i got myself to. So few days later here we are, it took me 4 hrs to prep the entire dish, including but not limited to grating, pounding, boiling, cooling, chopping etc. But! it only took us 5 mins to devour this dish. Whew!!!

The result:
So after we ate, we sat down and discussed our take on the food as we usually do with her creations. Discussing what needs to be changed on the recipe. Considering that there was no one recipe and i just mixed the recipe from 5 different youtube videos, the outcome was great and only needed small tweaks. I can say this is rated 4 out of 5.