The Big Project

Samantha Meryhew
11 min readFeb 13, 2019

--

Brainstorming: I’m back at it again!

This round I am making a larger scale project that will take up more of the semester. So, this round I want to develop something that plays with layers and depth. I have two ideas in mind…

The two ideas I was thinking of: The one on the left is the acrylic layered glass idea, and the one on the right is the layered CNC wood idea.

So I want to design three different dancer designs that would either be on acrylic glass or wood. This would either use the CNC router or the laser cutter.

For the wood idea I think I would also like to play with the different depths that I did with the Majora’s Mask (pictured below) that the CNC can do with the pockets. One happy accident that I liked that happened when the CNC was cutting the mask was that the ridges were knocked away by the drill because they were so fragile, and they created these interesting step-like dimension that I liked. So I would like to have that happy accident happen again on purpose.

Another option that I was considering is to create a series of these geometric dancers, like the one that I designed in the photo below. I really liked how the acrylic added the depth to the glass piece and I was wondering if I could play with depth with the acrylic: Could I add depth by adding layers of unmarked acrylic between the laser cut ones? Could I play with color using ink or light? I think if I really am liking the geometric designs I could create a whole bunch of these (heavy) acrylic designs… Maybe even create some stands for them with wood and LED lighting…

Majora’s Mask notice how in the second photo you can see the different depths.
The acrylic work that I made in past course using the laser cutter. Thinking the other option would be to create a series of these.

Some of my concerns are that the CNC would not be able to do sharp edges. I would prefer to do something stepped, so I could also design something more specific to the CNC’s abilities. If I go with the other idea I am curious as to how I can incorporate color into these works. I can use LED lighting true, but I don’t think that is the only way I could possibly add color… Maybe some vinyl stickers? I really just want to play with depth and layers and color this round in these works.

Beginning Work and More Brainstorming!

As I begin to work I am starting to come up with a more solid idea of what I want to do. From discussing the ideas with my instructor, Robin, There might be a way for me to combine the abilities of the CNC and the laser cutter. So what I am going to do is create more of these laser engraved geometric designs that are similar to the one I created above and I was thinking that I could use the CNC to create nice frame/holder of the laser cut designs:

As pictured over here, I think that I would create some nice and smooth wooden frame for my acrylic plates. In the frame put together, there would be wooden dividers that would put space between acrylic plates, it would almost create a pocket that the acrylic would sit in. To put it together, I was thinking that it would be put together like one big sandwich. To help with getting light into the structure because there is not much as it is, I was curious if it was possible to add little windows on the side or the top that open up into the sides of the acrylic to filter the light directly into the material.

Now the progress done so far!

They’re both me! I am using my likeness for these so far to create more geometric designs.

I have already gotten started in creating more geometric designs to work with using my own likeness as options. I am considering using the design I have used before but I rather create something new. I am still trying to figure out how I could add other elements into adding more depth…

Breaking Down the Pieces

So I have mapped out the sections I wanted to have on the different layers on top of the designs:

I assigned a color to each layer and sectioned off parts of the art that I thought would give the proper depth on each of the works.

To make this work, I made duplicates of the design, putting each copy on a different layer, layered them over each other (so they all looked like one stacked on each other) and then went through each copy and carefully deleted, redrew, and moved points and lines to retain the design. When done, each layer had it’s part that it was assigned. Examples of this is shown below:

So you can see in the examples how I color coded each layer. The eye (which you can expand the image to see) shows which layers you can see. Each layer is considered one slide of acrylic.

I am thinking that I will have these works be smaller so that they become more intimate. I wanted to make them large but making them small makes them much more personal and with the details people may look more closely. I like that idea.

Here is an example of one of the works with the desired size of the acrylic around it. These are not that small, but these are small enough to be more personal and intricate.

So I also got started on creating the frames for the slides. Here is a sample of what one of the holders will look like:

The square on the side of the image shown here is an approximation of what one of the slides will be in size and dimension. I also have to add dowel holes in the corners so that I can make sure alignment is perfect.

One of my concerns is that the thing will be too fragile and the CNC may hurt it. After all it’s only 1/2 an inch thick, and It’s not that deep. The bottom half is only 1/8 of an inch and the top half is only .150 in. I may talk to my instructor to check to see if that will be an issue. don’t think so but you never know.

I have to finish this set then work on the other set, but the frame should be identical. Considering adding a cool design with the laser cutter (for fun) on the outside but we will see.

UPDATE: I made the edges round, and it took forever.

Look at it’s beautiful shape. It took a lot of creative work with the trim and copy and paste features but I got the shape and the design I wanted. Who knew that the trickiest part of this project would be the frame.

Here’s what the set of layers (only 5) would looked like stacked.

I’m thinking of scaling the size of both acrylics up a bit as I still want to use plywood material but am afraid that this may be too delicate for the CNC. Have to browse around the shop this weekend at materials to see what they got. I also have to create front and back covers for this for the blank acrylic layers. We will see how this goes!

UPDATE: The Frame

I decided to resize the size of the frames.

Above is the new dimensions of one of the works. Hopefully this will be bigger, and sturdier enough for the acrylic sheets. I also created end pieces that would sandwich these holders, shown below:

The one on the top would be the one with the squares on the inside holding the blank acrylic layer in place, and the back would just be there to complete the sandwich look. What a complete design would look like is shown below:

I am liking the simplicity of the frame as it wouldn’t distract from the work. I am hoping to use quarter plywood for the material as it would contrast with the modern vibe of the acrylic.

I also created a frame for the other work, shown below:

Next steps for me is to see if I can get 1/8th acrylic… I may have to buy some off of Amazon. As for how much, I will figure that out as well.

Excited to see how this will wrap up!! It’s almost done!

UPDATE: Prepping for Cutting

After some clean up work on the frame model and the laser designs I have designed everything ready to cut!

Frame sections all ready to be cut!

Above is all of the 2D design of the frames parts. Each set consists of one front frame (top left without the rectangles on the frame), acrylic holders, and a back frame/support. I had adjusted the size of the “windows” (the rectangles on the frame part) so that they are all more even, as well as adjust how the lines were interpreted by Rhino so that they were grouped into closed curves, or else the machine would not like me. This took me a painstakingly long time. I had to import the design into Illustrator to do part of the cleanup!

I also made a small test cut that I will do a vector etch on in the lab. Thinking of making the designs really delicate so I want to make the lines really thin… But if they come out too thin I will do a raster.

UPDATE: ORGANIZE ORGANIZE ORGANIZE

So when I went into the lab to prep the file for the CNC Router to read, it turns out there was still much work to do…

I had to duplicate certain lines and find a way to group certain areas so that Rhino CAM could understand what I wanted. For example I had to create a Boolean line for the inside of the frames so that I could tell Rhino CAM to cut on the inside. I also had to to the same thing for the frames on the outside.

I also unfortunately could not get 1/2 piece of material, I only was able to get 3/4 plywood. So I would have to make a pocket cut on the top of the frames to make them the correct height.

Good news, the laser designs came out well!

It’s harder to see them on this background but I really like how the lines came out. Their delicate nature is quite nice and goes with the concept of a more personal piece that you have to get close to see the details. I am excited to see how the frames will affect how the layers look.

UDPATE: Cutting, Sanding, Finish~

So the final stretch of this project was a big roller coaster. So I could not get the piece of plywood I wanted, which was a 1/2 inch plywood, so I had to work with 3/4 plywood and get the piece cut down to size.

Then it was the cutting!

I ran into an array of problems during the cutting process too.

To start, for the smaller parts (such as the dowel holes and the pocketing) I used the 1/8 bit, but because I messed up with how the bit went into the plywood I ended up breaking the bit. Fortunately Robin had another to use. Another issue was that one of the center squares broke and almost broke 1/4 bit! But fortunately it didn’t. Beyond those two complications the frames got cut out pretty well.

Because it was plywood the frames were splintering, but I knew that it would be mostly okay because the sides that were splintering would be covered up because they were sandwiched.

I took the frames home to sand them down and do other cleaning on them; they really needed a lot of sanding.

To start the bridges that held the pieces down were really rough and not easy to cut off. I had to even use a file to sand the rougher edges that would not easily smoothen out with the sandpaper. Also, there were small bumps on the inside of the frames from where the CNC did not get as well that prevented the acrylic from properly sitting in the socket. Lastly, the spot where the acrylic and the dowel holes were still a bit too tight. I had to really sand those down to make sure that the acrylic and the dowels were able to slide into their places. It ended up being much tougher than expected.

But all finished they ended up looking pretty nice!

If I was going to change things in the future I would not use plywood for the frames at all; they split too much and they are a hassle to sand. I think MDF would be a much easier material to work with. I would also make sure there’s much more “wiggle” room for the frames. I think I would also play around with the line thickness of the dancers, as they are super delicate. But I still appreciate the personal element of the work, as they fit nicely in your hand.

--

--