Homeworld Build 02 — Kushan Frigates

Francisco Duarte
4 min readJul 20, 2022

--

Like I’ve said last week, I’m now starting a new section in my Warship Wednesdays, where I post builds based on the Homeworld setting. This is a true labor of love for one of the games that marked my childhood the most. Fear not, BattleTech fans, as I fully intend to alternate these with more ships from that setting, hopefully achieving a balance between the two.

After posting the Kadeshi Fleet as a proof-of-concept I’ll now move on to the main factions of the game. Because these fleets have so many iconic ships, and because some of them will be complex enough to warrant their own posts, I’ve decided to break them into parts, and then make a final post with the presentation of the two complete fleets — Kushan and Taiidan.

The long-lost ancestors of the Kushan people were forced to hide in the wasted deserts of the planet Kharak long ago, escaping a growing empire that took over their homeworld - Hiigara. However, an expedition found the lost fleet that took them there as well as the Guidestone — a carved rock with the coordinates of the Homeworld. This united the Clans and the entire population toiled to create the Mothership that would lead them back home.

Unfortunately, the empire that exiled them was still much in place and they would do everything to stop them from leaving the Kharak system. To face this enemy, the Taiidan, the Kushan only had a few small attack craft, but the lucky capture of a Taiidani frigate allowed them to reverse-engineer it.

The first frigate the Kushan put into service was the Assault Frigate. This was a simple vessel, essentially a simple hull with a powerful engine and weapons strapped on. It would become their workhorse and one of the most iconic vessels of the war.

Although well-armed, the Assault Frigate still lacked the ability to deal a knock-out hit to an enemy capital ship. The ability of the Kushan to do so wouldn’t appear until the mysterious Bentusi sold them the Ion Beam technology. By converting an entire hull to hold a single powerful beam cannon, they were able to create their own Ion Beam Frigate.

The versatility of the frigate design would lend it to be used in many other roles. This includes a drone command unit and even resource control. However, the last frigate I want to share with you is one that covers another, fundamental role.

The attack craft of this era had primitive engines that needed to burn fuel to provide thrust. Later, similar vessels would employ self-sustaining engines similar to those used by capital ships, but back then they had limited range. Therefore, there was a necessity to create specialized Support Frigates that would refuel smaller vessels during missions, extending their useful range. These ships would form the core of most attack formations.

I’m really happy with these. Because of the scale I’ll be using for these builds I had to force myself to maintain the frigates under 5 or 6 studs long, in this case ideally 4. I think I managed to strike a good balance between size and detail while keeping the parts usage relatively low. All ships are built around a solid central keel and should be quite sturdy and also easy to build.

I will also remind you that some choice of detailing that is probably a step too far in the creative liberty process (like the large turret of the Assault Frigate) come from my choice to take cues from the fleet creation system from the wargame Warfleets: FTL by One Page Rules. It was far too fun to do it like that.

On that note, I’ll provide a full system breakdown when I present the complete fleets.

Nevertheless, these builds can be employed in whatever use you fancy — that’s why they’re here. I do hope you like them. Next week I’ll show you the Taiidani frigates.

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine