Lego Set 26 — Panthesilea

Francisco Duarte
3 min readAug 4, 2021

--

Last week I’ve published my 25th BattleTech-inspired Lego instruction set. Although the text ended up being about the so-called “unseen” ‘Mechs, the number itself got me thinking. This has been a long journey since I started sharing these here. 25 BattleTech units converted into building bricks, plus many more from other settings. And through all of it, your incredible support. Thus, today’s unit is a celebration, of several kinds.

First, I’d mark last Sunday’s ‘Mech as the last one of what I’ll call from now on “Volume One.” I think it is fitting. I am considering making a PDF file to put all of them into a single easily accessible document. Let me know what you think of it, and if it is desirable or wise. This also marks this Panthesilea as the first set of “Volume Two,” which will have even stranger and more challenging builds.

Second, the reason why I made the Panthesilea is because of Magestrix Riley’s amazing initiatives within the wider BattleTech community. She was recently interviewed at Sarna.net, and I highly advise you to go check that out. The PEN-2H is one of her favorite ‘Mechs, and one of the most impressive builds ever to come out of the Magistracy of Canopus. Don’t worry, Riley, the Hammerhands is also in the books.

Third, the Panthesilea was a challenge that I needed, for sure. It is a very strange machine, but I think that after some effort I managed to bring out the essential elements of the design. For Mobile Frame Zero it uses a direct-fire weapon and an artillery weapon pod, as well as a spotting system and a movement system. It is destructive and mobile. It is made of a bit over 60 parts, and, as per usual, it stands well on its own. This build here uses the colors of the 1st Canopian Cuirassiers.

Forth, and last — I do still intend to bring back Fiction Wednesdays. But it has been difficult to really find the time to trim out the next fiction I want to put here. It is ambitious, but also old and in need of some extra editing. I think you will like it, though. There are also some additional projects I have in mind for this blog, but more info about those will come in due time.

For now, thank you for all the support and following. Really eager to see your builds. Send me pictures and comments. I love to check all of them. Have a good one!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine