Lego Set 38 — Yeoman

Francisco Duarte
2 min readDec 5, 2021

--

One of the objectives I’ve set for this blog and this Lego-based series of instruction sets is to use as few uncommon parts as possible. This stems from the fact that the real-life models I’ve made were all created with whatever parts I had at hand.

Arguably, I have a relatively hefty collection of construction bricks, so some models may be easier to reproduce than others. Nevertheless, I still seldom acquire more parts and have since been delving into actual BT miniatures, which is always fun.

With that said, at one point I tried to come up with the simplest model I could make using relatively common parts. How simple could I make a heavy ‘Mech, really?

Fortunately, within the rather extensive BattleTech lore, there are some examples of weirdly simplistic designs. The Yeoman is one such model.

Within the lore, it was a simple fire-support heavy ‘Mech, equipped with four long-range missile launchers in two box-like mounts. It went on to serve with the Free Worlds League military and the Word of Blake Militia. The model I present here uses the latter’s colors.

In practice, the Yeoman seemed like the perfect example to use whatever parts I had left and see what I could come up with. If the result was successful or not I’ll let you decide. I do intend to bring more of these scrap builds later on, as I think they may be of interest to a wide variety of people.

Let me know if you made it in real life. I’ll love to see how it turned out for you.

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine