So happy to see people using my sets

Francisco Duarte
2 min readApr 8, 2021

--

Today I had the most heartwarming news regarding the work I’ve been doing with this blog that I could have had — people are using my builds to have fun. Mika Metsätähti, who has been a consistent, amazing creator for the Mobile Frame Zero community and a fellow BattleTech fan has made some of my builds.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/95559018@N07/51102934526/

I’m so happy to see people having fun with the silly stuff I’ve been working on.

The things he says about these tiny mechs actually made me grin like a madman. These are mechs that I have been familiar with for decades, ever since I became a fan, twenty-five years ago. I just tried to make them simple and neat. Always had few parts to work on, so economy was mandatory. Even when some good friends donated their Legos to me, I had to find ways to economize parts so I could build the things I wanted (thanks, David and Rogério, from the bottom of my heart).

The perceived weight and bulkiness are a side-product of that process. On the other hand, they allow these sets to become what I intended - which is to have cheap, good-looking models that you can use on your wargames or to put on your shelves without any issue. Lego art, in a way.

So, if you’re making these models, let me know! I’m happy to see them, and the colors you use and why.

Thanks, Mika!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine