An Unexpected Series of Events: Creating a Career Composing for Games, Film, TV and Beyond

Metronome Online
4 min readNov 16, 2018

--

An Interview with Composer Bill Brown

Bill Brown composing during a live recording of his new album Dreamstate

By Metronome Online

Suspenseful, emotional, epic, heroic — Bill Brown has composed award-winning scores for hit video games, film, and TV with franchise names as large as Captain America, Wolfenstein, and CSI. Creating sound with everything from vintage instruments and synthesizers to a Millennium Falcon replica Rebel Bass, Bill seeks out the adventure of discovering the emotion, the feeling driving the score. Awaking from a dream, or dreaming while awake, Bill’s new album Dreamstate evokes the calming, meditative fantastical element of being entranced in dream. We sat down with Bill to learn about his journey into composing and in finding the musical direction for his new album.

What attracted you to music?

Music has always been like deep meditation for me, ever since I was a kid. All sense of time just disappears. There’s nothing else but the music and the inspiration driving it. I love that about it. Maybe it’s in my DNA. Is that a thing?

How did you get into composing for video games and movies?

A college roommate from Berklee introduced me to Scott Gershin at a company called Soundelux (which no longer exists). I hadn’t really considered scoring games up to that point, but the first two demos I composed there were for Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six and The Lost World: Trespasser. Both games were AAA hits right out of the gate. I didn’t even realize how incredible it all was until much later. I was having a blast coming in every day and writing all this big cinematic music for games. And after a while, I was scoring commercials and helping out with additional music on some films, along with writing and producing game soundtracks. Then one day I got a call from a director I had worked with on one of those commercials and a TV film. He asked if I’d be interested in coming in to meet with the creator of CSI, Anthony Zuiker, to talk about scoring the next series in the franchise, CSI: NY. At that point, I hadn’t really considered scoring a TV series. What an incredible day that was. And what an incredible nine years scoring the show after that. You never know. Life is like a box of chocolates, right?

Can you tell the story of the first film or game you scored and what you felt during that process?

The first game I started working on was The Lost World: Trespasser for DreamWorks Interactive. I used to play the alpha (pre-release) version of games as I worked on them. They would send me concept art, we’d talk about the game in detail, and then spend days and nights coming up with the direction together. To be able to help tell the story, to move the narrative forward musically through the game was and is always an adventure. Scoring has always been like that for me. We were listening to John Williams, of course, for that project and he was a big influence throughout — which was daunting. I was just starting to cut my chops orchestrally and hadn’t worked with a live orchestra up to that point. They said Spielberg said my demos sounded so good, and we wouldn’t need to go to record live.

I had been writing and recording with samplers and synths since I was a teenager, so I had a lot of experience at that point with them — maybe too much. It’s tough because you have to be good at demoing, but if the demo is too good, there is a chance the producers won’t be interested in spending the additional budget on recording live, which is unfortunate.

At the same time, Michael Giacchino was recording with a live orchestra for the other Lost World game they were creating in tandem with Trespasser, so it wasn’t in the cards for that one. But after that, I started to record with orchestras for the next games, and continued to, even recently with Captain America: Super Soldier. It’s always so much fun recording live. It was pretty rare in those days. It really takes everything to the next level.

Read more...

Bill Brown is an award-winning composer and creative force behind all nine seasons of the hit CBS series CSI: NY; game soundtracks for Wolfenstein, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six series, Lineage 2, Captain America: Super Soldier; and feature films including The Devil’s Tomb (Cuba Gooding Jr.), Brother’s Keeper, Desiree, Negative, Layover, as well as the modern noir thriller Rushlights. He also recently created an epic, multifaceted score for season 2 of the post apocalyptic thriller Dominion for Universal (SyFy).

You can see and hear more about Bill Brown’s new album, Dreamstate, at dreamstateproject.com.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website

--

--

Metronome Online

Inspirational articles and exclusive musician interviews from Metronome Online, an easy to use online metronome, available on iOS, Android, and web.